National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare
National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Treatment in Germany

You have health insurance in another Member State and would like to undergo treatment in Germany?

We would like to start in this chapter by providing you with an overview of the German health insurance system and of the quality and safety regulations that are relevant when undergoing treatment in Germany. You will also learn what rules apply when it comes to protecting your data in Germany. You can select from the search engine links that we have provided if you are looking for a specific type of healthcare provider (doctor, dentist, hospital, speech therapist, etc.).

You will find information regarding barrier-free access to hospitals by following the link in the document and link box at the end of this page.

Your specific rights to treatment in Germany differ depending on whether

Please read our information at “Pregnancy/maternity” on treatment related to pregnancy and maternity.

If the healthcare provider prescribes you a medicinal product, remedy or medical aid and you would like to present this prescription in your home country, you will find more information by following the link in the document and link box at the end of this page.

We have also put information together for you in case you would like to inspect your medical record at the end of your treatment or need a copy of it, or if you need information about what you should do if you suspect medical malpractice.

Documents and Links

The accessibility of hospitals for persons with disabilities If you would like to know before you undergo hospital treatment in Germany whether both the equipment and the manner of construction and organisation of the hospital which you have selected will help you to cope with the daily routine in the hospital and ensure that you receive smooth medical treatment, you will find information on this below. How do I present prescriptions that have been issued to me in Germany? If your doctor or dentist in Germany has issued you with prescriptions, you can present them directly in Germany or in the country in which you live. A few things need to be borne in mind here, however.

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in Germany at a glance

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung
Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Behandlung in Deutschland

Sie sind in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat krankenversichert und möchten sich in Deutschland behandeln lassen?

In diesem Kapitel geben wir Ihnen zunächst einen Überblick über das deutsche Krankenversicherungssystem sowie die im Zusammenhang mit einer Behandlung in Deutschland maßgebenden Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsbestimmungen. Außerdem erfahren Sie, welche Regelungen zum Schutz Ihrer Daten in Deutschland gelten. Wenn Sie konkret nach einem bestimmten Gesundheitsdienstleister (Ärztin oder Arzt, Zahnärztin oder Zahnarzt, einer Logopädin, einem Logopäden oder einem Krankenhaus usw.) suchen, können Sie hierfür die bei uns verlinkten Suchmaschinen nutzen.

Informationen zu einem barrierefreien Zugang zu Krankenhäusern finden Sie unter dem Link in der Dokumenten- und Linkbox am Ende dieser Seite.

Ihre konkreten Ansprüche für eine Behandlung in Deutschland unterscheiden sich abhängig davon, ob

Für Behandlungen im Zusammenhang mit Schwangerschaft und Mutterschaft lesen Sie bitte unsere Ausführungen unter „Schwangerschaft/Mutterschaft“.

Sollte der Gesundheitsdienstleister Ihnen ein Arzneimittel, Heil- oder Hilfsmittel verordnet haben und möchten Sie dieses Rezept in Ihrem Heimatland einlösen, finden Sie unter dem Link in der Dokumenten- und Linkbox am Ende dieser Seite weitere Infos.

Auch für den Fall, dass Sie am Ende der Behandlung Ihre Patientenakte einsehen möchten oder Kopien hieraus benötigen bzw., wenn Sie Informationen benötigen, was zu tun ist, wenn Sie einen Behandlungsfehler vermuten, haben wir Informationen für Sie zusammengestellt.

Dokumente und Links

Zugänglichkeit von Krankenhäusern für Menschen mit Behinderung Sie möchten vor der Behandlung wissen, ob sowohl die Ausstattung als auch die baulichen -und organisatorischen Maßnahmen des von Ihnen ausgesuchten Krankenhauses Sie dabei unterstützen, den Klinikalltag zu bewältigen und einen reibungslosen Ablauf der medizinischen Versorgung gewährleisten? Im Folgenden finden Sie hierzu Informationen. Wie löse ich meine in Deutschland ausgestellten Verschreibungen ein? Wenn Ihnen Ihre Ärztin oder Ihr Arzt, Zähnärztin oder Ihr Zahnarzt in Deutschland Rezepte bzw. Verschreibungen ausgestellt hat, können Sie diese in Deutschland oder in Ihrem Wohnstaat einlösen. Dabei müssen aber einige Dinge beachtet werden.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung in Deutschland auf einen Blick