Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Advantages and disadvantages of the cost reimbursement methods in case of planned treatment as if you had statutory or private health insurance in Germany

Both variants entail advantages and disadvantages whose consequences may vary, depending on the country where you would like to undergo treatment. You will find an overview below of the areas in which these advantages and disadvantages are to be found as a rule. We will be happy to answer any queries you may have.

Regulation (EC) No 883/2004 (treatment as a patient with statutory health insurance in another EU country)

Advantages Disadvantages
You may receive benefits beyond the range of benefits available in Germany, if they are covered by the range of benefits according to the laws of the state of treatment. You always (thus for every out-patient or in-patient treatment) need prior authorisation from your health insurance fund.
Costs incurred do generally not exceed the co-payment applicable to persons with statutory insurance according to the rules of the state of treatment. An entitlement only arises when a prior authorisation has been granted.
Costs are settled directly between the healthcare provider and the healthcare insurers involved. You may only consult healthcare providers with a contract, e.g. doctors, dentists and hospitals having entered into a contract with the statutory health insurance in that state. Your entitlement is limited to benefits within the range of benefits of statutory insurance in the state of treatment.
In cases of malpractice you will be treated like a person insured with statutory insurance of that system in the state of treatment. Since your German health insurance fund does not have a contract with the healthcare provider in the state of treatment, it will not be able to assist you directly in cases of malpractice.
No costs will incur for translations of invoices.  
If the amount of the treatment costs covered by the health insurance in the state of treatment is lower than the amount the German health insurance fund would have covered for a treatment in Germany, you may request reimbursement of your share from your health insurance fund. However, the German health insurance fund may also, if applicable, deduct the co-payment that would have to be paid for the treatment in Germany.  

Directive 2011/24/EU (treatment as a patient with private health insurance in another EU country)

Advantages Disadvantages
You may also consult private healthcare providers (e.g. private doctors and private hospitals). Costs may exceed the amount that is reimbursed by your German healthcare insurer.
The range of benefits you may receive is not limited to those benefits that persons with statutory health insurance of the state of treatment may receive. You will thus be able to receive benefits that are covered by the range of benefits in Germany, but that are not covered in the state of treatment. You will initially have to pay the costs yourself and you will only subsequently receive reimbursement of a part of the costs.
In many cases, prior authorisation is not necessary. If the invoice was not issued in German, it will have to be translated at your expense.
If no prior authorisation is required, you may quickly receive healthcare services. Liability and warranty claims are exclusively governed by the laws of the state of treatment and have to be pursued by you according to these laws. Your health insurance fund in Germany will not be able to offer you assistance with this.
  Language problems may come up. It may be necessary to arrange for a translation of the results of prior examinations carried out in Germany, parts of your medical records or – after treatment – for a translation of results of your medical records in the other country, at your own expense.

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

phone
+49 (0)228 9530 802/608 (Monday to Friday)

+49 (0)228 9530 800 (Monday to Friday from 8 a.m to 12 a.m)

Online contact form

Privacy Policy for enquiries to EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Find National Contact Points of other EU countries

You will find here a list of National Contact Points of the EU with several contact informations.

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in another EU country at a glance

We use cookies

We use cookies to make the use of our website more convenient for you. We also wish to better understand your user behaviour so that we can continually improve contents and functions. Please therefore agree to the use of the following cookies. You can find more information on the data we store in our Privacy Policy.

Cookies are small text files that a website stores on the computers of our visitors to make individual functions and web applications such as search functions and forms more user-friendly. Cookies are usually stored in the browser cache of the computer.

Our webpages distinguish between necessary cookies, without which the website would not function, and statistics cookies that help us to better understand the user behaviour of our visitors and continuously improve our website. According to the law, we can store necessary cookies on your computer. We need your consent for all other cookies.

You can change or revoke your consent to accept cookies at any time on our website. You can find out more about this in our Privacy Policy.

Necessary cookies ensure that our webpages function correctly. They are required, for example, for navigation, the search function and for individual forms. The following cookies are stored on your computer when you visit our website:

BIGipServer (GKV-Spitzenverband)
This cookie stores information on the server via which the webpage is visited.
Expiry: After closing the browser window/tab

creaseFont (GKV-Spizenverband)
This cookie stores the preferred font size. This cookie is only set if the visitor has chosen a font size other than the standard font size for this website.
Expiry: 60 days

JSESSIONID (GKV-Spitzenverband)
This cookie stores an anonymous ID which is required for certain functions during your visit to our website.
Expiry: After closing the browser window/tab

openSessionHintLayer (GKV-Spitzenverband)
This cookie stores information that the help/support layer has been displayed and clicked.
Expiry: After closing the browser window/tab

These cookies store information on the user behaviour of the visitors of our website. The information stored provides us with data on the reach of our website and the user behaviour of our visitors. This allows us to continually improve our website.

All information is collected and evaluated anonymously. To do so, we use the open source software Matomo, which is installed on our servers. You can read more about this in our Privacy Policy.

_pk_ses (GKV-Spitzenverband / Matomo)
Expiry: 30 minutes

_pk_id (GKV-Spitzenverband / Matomo)
Expiry: 13 months

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:

Feedback

Bitte bewerten Sie unser Angebot.

Brexit

Weitere Informationen zum Brexit finden Sie hier:

Toolbox zur grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsversorgung

Die Toolbox der Europäischen Kommission - mit Checklisten für Patientinnen und Patienten, Patientenorganisationen und Gesundheitsdienstleister - informiert über die rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen der grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsversorgung.

Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Vor- und Nachteile der Kostenerstattungsmöglichkeiten bei einer geplanten Behandlung wie eine gesetzlich -oder privat krankenversicherte Person im EU-Ausland

Beide Varianten haben ihre Vor- und Nachteile. Zudem können diese, je nachdem in welchem Land Sie sich behandeln lassen möchten, unterschiedlich ins Gewicht fallen. Im Folgenden finden Sie eine Übersicht darüber, in welchen Bereichen die Vor- und Nachteile in der Regel zu finden sind. Bei Rückfragen helfen wir Ihnen gerne weiter.

EG-Verordnung Nr. 883/2004 (Behandlung wie eine gesetzlich krankenversicherte Person im Aufenthaltsstaat)

Vorteile Nachteile
Sie können Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen, die über den Leistungskatalog in Deutschland hinausgehen, aber zum gesetzlichen Leistungsumfang im Behandlungsstaat gehören. Sie benötigen immer (also für jede ambulante und stationäre Leistung) eine Vorabgenehmigung Ihrer Krankenkasse.
Es entstehen Ihnen in der Regel Kosten nur in Höhe des Eigenanteils für gesetzlich Versicherte nach den Regelungen des Behandlungsstaats. Ein Leistungsanspruch entsteht erst nach Erteilung der Vorabgenehmigung.
Die Abrechnung der Kosten findet direkt zwischen dem Gesundheitsdienstleister und den beteiligten Krankenversicherungsträgern statt. Es können nur Vertragsdienstleister aufgesucht werden, also z. B. nur Ärztinnen und Ärzte, Zahnärztinnen und Zahnärzte, Krankenhäuser, die einen Vertrag mit der dortigen gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung haben. Ihr Leistungsanspruch ist begrenzt auf die Leistungen, die zum gesetzlichen Leistungskatalog im Behandlungsstaat gehören.
Bei Behandlungsfehlern werden Sie im Behandlungsstaat wie ein gesetzlich Versicherter des dortigen Systems behandelt. Ihre deutsche Krankenkasse hat keinen Vertrag mit dem Gesundheitsdienstleister im Behandlungsstaat und kann Sie daher bei Behandlungsfehlern nicht unmittelbar unterstützen.
Es entstehen keine Übersetzungskosten für Rechnungen.  
Sind die Behandlungskosten, die im Behandlungsstaat von der dortigen Krankenversicherung getragen werden niedriger als die Kosten, die die deutsche Krankenkasse bei einer Behandlung in Deutschland getragen hätte, können Sie insoweit für den von Ihnen getragenen Eigenanteil eine Erstattung bei Ihrer Krankenkasse beantragen. Die deutsche Krankenkasse kann allerdings auch hierbei die ggf. von Ihnen zu leistende Zuzahlung abziehen, die bei einer Behandlung in Deutschland zu entrichten ist.  

Richtlinie 2011/24/EU (Behandlung wie eine privat krankenversicherte Person im Aufenthaltsstaat)

Vorteile Nachteile
Sie können auch private Gesundheitsdienstleister (z. B. Privatärztinnen und Privatärzte, Privatkrankenhäuser) aufsuchen. Die Kosten können höher sein als die Erstattung durch Ihren Krankenversicherungsträger in Deutschland.
Ihr Leistungsumfang ist nicht auf den für gesetzlich Versicherte im Behandlungsstaat beschränkt. Sie können also auch Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen, die in Deutschland, nicht aber im Behandlungsstaat, zum erfassten Leistungsumfang gehören. Sie müssen die Kosten zunächst selbst begleichen und erhalten erst im Nachhinein die Erstattung zumindest eines Teils der Kosten.
In vielen Fällen ist keine Vorabgenehmigung notwendig. Die Krankenkasse kann verlangen, dass Sie die Rechnung – wenn sie nicht in Deutsch erstellt wurde – auf Ihre Kosten übersetzen lassen.
Wenn keine Vorabgenehmigung notwendig ist, kann die Gesundheitsdienstleistung schnell in Anspruch genommen werden. Haftungs- und Gewährleistungsansprüche richten sich ausschließlich nach dem Recht des Behandlungsstaates und sind von Ihnen nach dortigem Recht zu verfolgen. Ihre deutsche Krankenkasse kann Sie dabei nicht unterstützen.
  Es kann zu Sprachproblemen kommen. Ergebnisse von Voruntersuchungen aus Deutschland, ggf. Teile Ihrer Patientenakte, und nach der Behandlung auch Ergebnisse Ihrer ausländischen Patientenakte, sind ggf. auf Ihre Kosten übersetzen zu lassen.

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802, +49 228 9530-608, +49 228 9530-800 (Mo - Do von 8:00 Uhr bis 16:30 Uhr, Freitag von 8:00 Uhr bis 15:00 Uhr)

Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Datenschutzrechtliche Informationen im Zusammenhang mit Anfragen an EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Kontaktstellen im EU-Ausland finden

Hier finden Sie eine Auflistung von Nationalen Kontaktstellen anderer EU-Staaten.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung im EU-Ausland auf einen Blick

Wir verwenden Cookies

Wir setzen Cookies ein, um die Nutzung unseres Webauftritts für Sie komfortabler zu gestalten. Wir möchten zudem Ihr Nutzungsverhalten besser verstehen, um Inhalte und Funktionen kontinuierlich zu verbessern. Bitte stimmen Sie daher der Nutzung folgender Cookies zu. Nähere Informationen zu den von uns gespeicherten Daten finden Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Cookies sind kleine Textdateien, die eine Webseite auf Ihrem Computer bzw. Endgerät speichert, um einzelne Funktionen und Webanwendungen wie die Suche und Formulare nutzerfreundlicher gestalten zu können. Cookies werden in der Regel im Internetbrowser-Ordner bzw. vom Internetbrowser auf dem Betriebssystem Ihres Computers gespeichert.

Unsere Webseiten unterscheiden zwischen notwendigen Cookies, ohne die die Webseite nicht funktionieren würde, und Statistik-Cookies, mit deren Hilfe wir das Nutzerverhalten unserer Zielgruppen besser verstehen lernen und unsere Webseiten kontinuierlich verbessern können. Notwendige Cookies können wir laut Gesetz auf Ihrem Computer speichern. Für die Statistik-Cookies benötigen wir Ihre Zustimmung.

Sie können Ihre Einwilligung zur Cookie-Erklärung jederzeit auf unserer Website ändern oder widerrufen. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Notwendige Cookies sorgen dafür, dass unsere Webseiten korrekt funktionieren. Sie werden beispielsweise für die Navigation, die Suchfunktion und für einzelne Formulare benötigt. Folgende Cookies werden beim Besuch unserer Webseiten auf Ihrem Computer gespeichert:

BIGipServerDVKA-EU-PATIENTEN-PR-HTTP_Pool (GKV-Spitzenverband)
Dieser Cookie speichert die Information, über welchen unserer Server die Webseite besucht wird.
Ablauf: nach Schließen des Browserfensters/-tabs

creaseFont (GKV-Spizenverband)
Dieser Cookie speichert die bevorzugte Schriftgröße. Dieser Cookie wird nur gesetzt, wenn die Besucherin / der Besucher für diese Website eine andere Schriftgröße als die Standard-Schriftgröße gewählt hat.
Ablauf: 60 Tage

JSESSIONID (GKV-Spitzenverband)
Dieser Cookie speichert eine anonyme ID, die während des Besuchs unserer Webseite für bestimmte Funktionen benötigt wird.
Ablauf: nach Schließen des Browserfensters/-tabs

openSessionHintLayer
Dieser Cookie speichert eine Information darüber, dass der Hilfe-/Support-Layer ausgespielt und geklickt wurde.
Ablauf: nach Schließen des Browserfensters/-tabs

Diese Cookies speichern Informationen zur Nutzung während Ihres Besuchs unserer Webseiten. Die gespeicherten Informationen geben uns Auskunft über die Reichweite unseres Webauftritts und das Nutzungsverhalten unserer Besucherinnen und Besucher. Auf dieser Basis können wir unser Webangebot kontinuierlich für Sie verbessern.

Sämtliche Informationen werden anonym erfasst und ausgewertet. Wir nutzen dafür die Open-Source-Software Matomo, die auf unseren Servern installiert ist. Näheres dazu können Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung nachlesen.

_pk_ses (GKV-Spitzenverband / Matomo)
Ablauf: 30 Minuten

_pk_id (GKV-Spitzenverband / Matomo)
Ablauf: 13 Monate