Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Travel and accommodation expenses

We have compiled some useful information for you below if you have obtained prior authorisation from your health insurer to have treatment carried out under Regulation (EC) No 883/04 (i.e. you have received form E112 or S2), and are wondering whether your health insurer will also cover your travel and accommodation expenses, and if so under what conditions.

Whether your health insurer will approve and reimburse travel and accommodation expenses, and if so in what amount, largely depends on whether your health insurance fund has authorised the treatment on a discretionary basis, or whether it was obliged to authorise the treatment. The latter is only the case if the treatment in question is part of the statutory list of benefits in Germany, but cannot be provided to you within a time-limit which is medically justifiable, taking into account your current state of health and the probable course of your illness (see Art. 20(2), sentence 2, of Regulation (EC) 883/04).

In the event that your health insurance fund authorised your treatment on a discretionary basis, any travel and accommodation expense reimbursements are limited to the amount that would have been incurred on the way to the closest hospital in Germany. In this respect, you will be treated as if you had undergone treatment in Germany.

Mr Miller applies to his health insurer to authorise in-patient treatment in France for private reasons. Although the health insurance fund is not obliged to grant authorisation to Mr Miller in this instance, it authorises the treatment requested on a discretionary basis. A patient transport from Germany to France is medically necessary in order to be able to carry out the treatment. The suitable hospital closest to where he lives in Germany is 50 km away. This being so, Mr Miller is only entitled to be reimbursed the cost of patient transport to the closest hospital in Germany (50 km).

The case would be judged differently were treatment not to be available in Germany, or not in good time. In that case, your health insurer will meet the transport expenses from Germany to the place where you receive your treatment if a form E 112 or S2 has been issued for the treatment and the patient transport is medically necessary.

Mr Miller requests authorisation of in-patient treatment in France for a rare disease which can only be provided there within a time-limit which is medically justifiable. Patient transport is also medically necessary for the treatment. In this case, the health insurer is to pay the patient transport costs to France, as the treatment in France is handled as if the treatment were taking place in Germany.

If you are receiving treatment in one of the Member States as if you had private insurance under the Patient Mobility Regulation 2011/24/EU, there is only provision for the health insurer to reimburse the travel and accommodation expenses up to what would have been incurred and refundable in the case of treatment in Germany.

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Find National Contact Points of other EU countries

You will find here a list of National Contact Points of the EU with several contact informations.

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in another EU country at a glance

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten

Sie haben sich eine Behandlung im Vorfeld von Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger im Rahmen der Verordnung (EG) Nr. 883/04 genehmigen lassen (Vordruck E112 oder S2 erhalten) und fragen sich, ob und unter welchen Voraussetzungen Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger auch die Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten übernimmt?

Im Folgenden haben wir für Sie dazu einige Informationen zusammengestellt.

Ob und in welcher Höhe die anfallenden Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten von Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger übernommen bzw. erstattet werden, hängt maßgeblich davon ab, ob Ihnen Ihre Krankenkasse die Behandlung im Rahmen des ihr zustehenden Ermessens genehmigt hat oder ob Ihnen die Zustimmung erteilt werden musste. Letzteres ist nur dann der Fall, wenn die betreffende Behandlung Teil des deutschen gesetzlichen Leistungskataloges ist, Ihnen diese jedoch nicht innerhalb eines in Anbetracht Ihres derzeitigen Gesundheitszustandes und des voraussichtlichen Verlaufs Ihrer Krankheit medizinisch vertretbaren Zeitraums ermöglicht werden konnte (vgl. Art. 20 Abs. 2 Satz 2 VO (EG) 883/04).

Für den Fall, dass Ihre Krankenkasse Ihnen die Behandlung im Rahmen ihres Ermessens genehmigt hat, ist die Erstattung der Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten auf den Betrag beschränkt, der bis zum nächstgelegenen Krankenhaus in Deutschland angefallen wäre. Insoweit werden Sie so behandelt, als ob die Behandlung in Deutschland stattgefunden hätte.

Herr Müller beantragt aus privaten Gründen bei seinem Krankenversicherungsträger die Zustimmung für eine stationäre Behandlung in Frankreich. Obwohl die Krankenkasse in diesem Fall nicht dazu verpflichtet ist, Herrn Müller die Zustimmung zu erteilen, genehmigt sie ihm die beantragte Behandlung im Rahmen ihres Ermessens. Um die Behandlung durchführen zu können, ist ein Krankentransport von Deutschland nach Frankreich medizinisch erforderlich. Von seinem Wohnort in Deutschland aus befindet sich das nächstgelegene und geeignete Krankenhaus in 50 km Entfernung. In diesem Fall hat Herr Müller ausschließlich Anspruch auf die Erstattung der Krankentransportkosten bis zum nächstgelegenen Krankenhaus in Deutschland (50 km).

Anders ist der Fall zu beurteilen, wenn keine oder keine rechtzeitige Behandlung in Deutschland möglich ist. In diesen Fällen übernimmt Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger die Transportkosten von Deutschland bis zum jeweiligen Behandlungsort, wenn für die Behandlung ein Vordruck E 112 oder S2 ausgestellt wurde und der Krankentransport medizinisch erforderlich ist.

Herr Müller beantragt wegen einer seltenen Erkrankung die Zustimmung für eine stationäre Behandlung in Frankreich, die nur dort innerhalb eines medizinisch vertretbaren Zeitraums erbracht werden kann. Für die Behandlung ist auch der Krankentransport medizinisch erforderlich. In einem solchen Fall sind die Krankentransportkosten nach Frankreich durch Ihren Krankenversicherungsträger zu übernehmen, da die Behandlung in Frankreich so behandelt wird, als würde die Behandlung in Deutschland erfolgen.

Sofern Sie sich im Rahmen der Patientenrichtlinie 2011/24/EU wie eine privat krankenversicherte Person in einem der Mitgliedsstaaten behandeln lassen, ist eine Erstattung der Reise- und Aufenthaltskosten durch den Krankenversicherungsträger nur in dem Umfang vorgesehen, wie er bei einer Behandlung in Deutschland angefallen und zu erstatten gewesen wäre.

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801

Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Datenschutzrechtliche Informationen im Zusammenhang mit Anfragen an EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Kontaktstellen im EU-Ausland finden

Hier finden Sie eine Auflistung von Nationalen Kontaktstellen anderer EU-Staaten.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung im EU-Ausland auf einen Blick