Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

§ 630 c German Civil Code (BGB) - Cooperation between the contracting parties; obligations to provide information

(1) The treating party and the patient should work together to implement the treatment.

(2) The treating party is obliged to explain to the patient in a comprehensible manner at the beginning of the treatment, and where necessary during the same, all and any circumstances that are relevant to the treatment, in particular the diagnosis, the anticipated health development, the therapy and the measures to be taken on the occasion of and subsequent to the therapy. If circumstances are recognisable for the treating party which give rise to the presumption of malpractice, he/she shall inform the patient thereof on request or in order to avert health risks. If the treating party or one of his/her relatives designated in section 52 subsection (1) of the Code of Criminal Procedure has committed malpractice, the information in accordance with sentence 2 may only be used for evidential purposes in criminal or regulatory fine proceedings pursued against the treating party or against a member of his/her family with the consent of the treating party.

(3) If the treating party knows that the complete assumption of the treatment costs by a third party is not secured, or if sufficient indications of this emerge under the circumstances, he/she must inform the patient in text form prior to commencing the treatment of the likely costs of the treatment. Further requirements from other provisions as to form remain unaffected.

(4) The patient does not need to be informed where this can exceptionally be dispensed with because of special circumstances, in particular if the treatment cannot be postponed or the patient has explicitly waived being informed.

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Legal notice

Translations of legal sources are provided for information purposes only. Please note the heading ‘Laws and ordinances’ in the imprint.

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

§ 630 c Bürgerliche Gesetzbuch (BGB) - Mitwirkung, Informationspflichten

(1) Behandelnder und Patient sollen zur Durchführung der Behandlung zusammenwirken.

(2) Der Behandelnde ist verpflichtet, dem Patienten in verständlicher Weise zu Beginn der Behandlung und, soweit erforderlich, in deren Verlauf sämtliche für die Behandlung wesentlichen Umstände zu erläutern, insbesondere die Diagnose, die voraussichtliche gesundheitliche Entwicklung, die Therapie und die zu und nach der Therapie zu ergreifenden Maßnahmen. Sind für den Behandelnden Umstände erkennbar, die die Annahme eines Behandlungsfehlers begründen, hat er den Patienten über diese auf Nachfrage oder zur Abwendung gesundheitlicher Gefahren zu informieren. Ist dem Behandelnden oder einem seiner in § 52 Absatz 1 der Strafprozessordnung bezeichneten Angehörigen ein Behandlungsfehler unterlaufen, darf die Information nach Satz 2 zu Beweiszwecken in einem gegen den Behandelnden oder gegen seinen Angehörigen geführten Straf- oder Bußgeldverfahren nur mit Zustimmung des Behandelnden verwendet werden.

(3) Weiß der Behandelnde, dass eine vollständige Übernahme der Behandlungskosten durch einen Dritten nicht gesichert ist oder ergeben sich nach den Umständen hierfür hinreichende Anhaltspunkte, muss er den Patienten vor Beginn der Behandlung über die voraussichtlichen Kosten der Behandlung in Textform informieren. Weitergehende Formanforderungen aus anderen Vorschriften bleiben unberührt.

(4) Der Information des Patienten bedarf es nicht, soweit diese ausnahmsweise aufgrund besonderer Umstände entbehrlich ist, insbesondere wenn die Behandlung unaufschiebbar ist oder der Patient auf die Information ausdrücklich verzichtet hat.

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Rechtlicher Hinweis

Die hier wiedergegebenen Texte dienen nur zur Information. Bitte beachten Sie den Abschnitt „Gesetze und Verordnungen“ des Impressums.