Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Checklists for doctors and dentists on in-patient treatment

A patient who has health insurance in another Member State would like to undergo private treatment in a hospital in Germany. In this case the checklist below provides you with an overview of what you should bear in mind before, during and after the treatment.

Before treatment

  • You have made sure that your patient came to Germany from a Member State for treatment and did not become in need of treatment during a stay in Germany. In the latter case, the patient should be treated within the framework of the European Health Insurance Card or of a Provisional Replacement Certificate. The patient furthermore did not express a desire to be treated on the basis of a billing certificate from the German health insurance fund or of a form E 112 or S2.
  • You have concluded a written treatment contract with the patient relating to the individual services. On request by the patient, you have sent him/her a cost estimate.
  • You have reached an agreement with the patient with regard to the form and period of the payment.
  • You have obtained information from the patient regarding his/her medical history, and have inspected copies from his/her medical records where necessary.
  • You have made sure that the patient has understood and consented to all the treatment steps which you are planning.

During treatment

  • You have noted all the measures, diagnoses and examination results in the medical records.

After treatment

  • If you need to prescribe medicinal products or medicinal devices to your patient, ask him/her whether these prescriptions are to be presented in Germany or in another Member State. If they are to be presented outside Germany, particular requirements need to be taken into account with regard to the content (Link -> Information for healthcare providers -> Prescriptions). Inform your patient that there may currently still be problems in practice if he/she presents prescriptions in other Member States. You should therefore recommend to the patient to present the prescriptions in Germany.
  • You have issued the patient with an itemised bill.

Documents and Links

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Checkliste für Ärztinnen und Ärzte/Zahnärztinnen und Zahnärzte für die stationäre Behandlung

Eine in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat krankenversicherte Person möchte sich in einem Krankenhaus in Deutschland privat behandeln lassen. In diesem Fall gibt Ihnen die folgende Checkliste einen Überblick darüber, was Sie vor, während und nach der Behandlung beachten sollten.

Vor der Behandlung

  • Sie haben darauf geachtet, dass Ihre Patiention oder Ihr Patient aus einem Mitgliedstaat zur Behandlung nach Deutschland kommt und nicht während eines Aufenthalts in Deutschland behandlungsbedürftig geworden ist. In letzterem Fall wäre die Patientin oder der Patient im Rahmen der Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte oder Provisorischen Ersatzbescheinigung zu behandeln. Die Patientin oder der Patient hat auch nicht darauf hingewiesen, dass er auf der Basis eines Abrechnungsscheins der deutschen Krankenkasse oder eines Vordruck E 112 oder S2 behandelt werden möchte.
  • Sie haben mit der Patientin oder dem Patienten schriftlich einen Behandlungsvertrag über die einzelnen Leistungen geschlossen. Auf Nachfrage der Patientin oder des Patienten haben Sie diesem einen Kostenvoranschlag zukommen lassen.
  • Sie haben mit der Patientin oder dem Patienten eine Vereinbarung zur Form und Frist der Bezahlung getroffen.
  • Sie haben sich von der Patientin oder dem Patienten über dessen Krankheitsgeschichte informieren lassen und bei Bedarf Kopien aus dessen Patientenakte eingesehen.
  • Sie haben darauf geachtet, dass die Patientin oder der Patient alle von Ihnen geplanten Behandlungsschritte verstanden hat und mit diesen einverstanden ist.

Während der Behandlung

Sie haben alle von Ihnen durchgeführten Maßnahmen, Diagnosen und Untersuchungsergebnisse in der Patientenakte vermerkt.

Nach der Behandlung

  • Falls Sie Ihren Patienten Arzneimittel oder Medizinprodukte verschreiben müssen, fragen Sie diese, ob sie diese in Deutschland oder in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat einlösen möchten. Für das Einlösen außerhalb Deutschlands sind besondere inhaltliche Anforderungen zu beachten. Weisen Sie Ihre Patienten darauf hin, dass es in der Praxis derzeit noch zu Problemen beim Einlösen von Verschreibungen in anderen Mitgliedstaaten kommen kann. Empfehlen Sie Ihren Patienten daher, die Verschreibungen in Deutschland einzulösen.
  • Sie haben den Patienten eine spezifizierte Rechnung ausgestellt.

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular