Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Glossary

Statutory Health Insurance in the state of treatment

Health insurance is regulated differently in the individual Member States, as well as in Switzerland and the EEA States Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

The organisation may for instance be within a National Health Fund with one single health insurance organisation or, it may be spread over many individual health insurance funds as is the case in Germany.

Benefits-in-kind or cost reimbursement

Not all of these states operate by the benefits-in-kind principle as we know it in Germany. It is typical of this principle that those with statutory insurance do not have to pay for benefits upfront.

Some states have a cost reimbursement system, so that it is customary to initially pay for benefits yourself, at least in out-patient care. The bill is then submitted to the healthcare insurer for reimbursement.

Private or statutory health insurance

Most of the states named above do not distinguish between purely private and purely statutory health insurance, as we partly do in Germany. Here, as a rule everyone has statutory health insurance. These individuals with statutory health insurance can also conclude additional private health insurance for benefits which the statutory system does not provide.

Taxes or contributions

Both forms of funding, as well as mixed forms, can be found in the statutory health insurance systems of the individual states.

The varied landscape of the individual states leads to an equally varied structure of statutory health insurance and of the benefits which it covers. In order to enable you to clarify specific questions which you may have, for instance

  • on how to exchange a form E 112 or S2, or
  • on co-payments,
  • on upfront payments, or
  • on cost reimbursements,

either on the spot or in advance by telephone or e-mail, you need the contact details for the statutory healthcare insurers in the respective states. These are the same insurers whom you should also contact in the context of treatment with the European Health Insurance Card, for instance when on holiday in the state in question. The German Liaison Agency Health Insurance – International has drawn up leaflets (leaflets entitled “On holiday in …”) for this group of individuals. The contact details of the statutory healthcare insurers are listed at the end of each leaflet. They will be glad to help you with the above questions or should you have any other questions.

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Glossar

Gesetzliche Krankenversicherung des Behandlungsstaats

Die Krankenversicherung in den einzelnen Mitgliedstaaten sowie auch in der Schweiz und den EWR-Staaten Island, Liechtenstein und Norwegen ist recht unterschiedlich geregelt.

Die Organisation kann z. B. im Rahmen eines Nationalen Gesundheitsfonds mit einem einheitlichen Krankenversicherungsträger oder, wie in Deutschland, über viele einzelne Krankenkassen verteilt sein.

Sachleistungen oder Kostenerstattung

Nicht jeder dieser Staaten verfährt nach dem Naturalleistungsprinzip, wie wir es in Deutschland kennen. Typisch für dieses Prinzip ist, dass der gesetzlich Krankenversicherte die Leistungen nicht im Voraus bezahlen muss.

Einige Staaten haben ein Kostenerstattungssystem. Hier ist es zumindest im ambulanten Bereich üblich, die Leistung zunächst selbst zu bezahlen. Die Rechnung wird anschließend zur Erstattung bei dem gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungsträger eingereicht.

Private oder gesetzliche Krankenersicherung

Eine Unterscheidung in rein privat und rein gesetzlich Krankenversicherte, wie wir sie in Deutschland zum Teil vorfinden, ist in den meisten der oben genannten Staaten nicht üblich. Hier sind in der Regel alle Personen gesetzlich krankenversichert. Diese gesetzlich krankenversicherten Personen haben zudem die Möglichkeit eine zusätzliche private Krankenversicherung für nicht gesetzlich vorgesehene Leistungen abzuschließen.

Steuern oder Beiträge

Beide Finanzierungsformen sowie Mischformen sind in den gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungssystemen der einzelnen Staaten zu finden.

So vielfältig wie die Landschaft der einzelnen Staaten ist daher auch die Ausgestaltung der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung und ihres Leistungsumfangs. Damit Sie konkrete Fragen z. B.

  • zum Umtausch eines Vordrucks E 112 oder S2 oder
  • zu Eigenanteilen
  • zur Vorausbezahlung oder
  • zur Kostenerstattung

vor Ort oder bereits im Vorfeld per Telefon oder E-Mail klären können, benötigen Sie die Kontaktdaten der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungsträger in den jeweiligen Staaten. Hierbei handelt es sich um die gleichen Träger, die auch Ansprechpartner im Rahmen einer Behandlung mit der Europäischen Krankenversicherungskarte, z. B. während eines Urlaubs in dem entsprechenden Staat sind. Für diesen Personenkreis hat die Deutsche Verbindungsstelle Krankenversicherung – Ausland Merkblätter erstellt. Am Ende der Merkblätter, sind die Kontaktdaten der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungsträger aufgeführt. Diese helfen Ihnen bei den oben genannten Fragestellungen oder weiteren Fragen gerne weiter.

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular