Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Would you like to be treated as a patient in Germany, and have unanswered questions?

You will find below an overview of answers for you which we frequently give in our consultations. You can obtain further information on this topic by clicking on the respective answer. We would also be happy to hear from you directly to clarify any details or other aspects.

What does a healthcare provider need to inform me of before providing treatment? He/she needs to provide you with information on the treatment, the risks involved and the likely costs; the latter must be in writing.
Do I need to give explicit consent to the treatment in advance, and if so in what form? Prior consent needs to be given either orally, in writing, explicitly or in implied form.
What does the doctor need to document in the medical records? The doctor needs to document all major actions and results in the medical records.
Do I have a right to inspect my medical records, and do I have to pay a fee in order to do so? Yes; you will however have to pay a fee if you need duplicates.
Am I entitled to an interpreter if I am unable to understand the doctor because my knowledge of German is inadequate? You can of course involve an interpreter at any time, but you will have to meet any costs.
What possibilities are there to have some of the costs met by my health insurance if I would like to undergo treatment in a German hospital? You can try to obtain an E112 or S2 form from your health insurer, and then obtain treatment at its expense as if you had statutory health insurance in Germany.

Alternatively, you can try to receive treatment in Germany as a private patient on the basis of the Patients’ Rights Directive and obtain at least a partial refund from your insurer.
What can I do if I have the impression that I have been the victim of medical malpractice on the part of a doctor or dentist or in hospital? Approach your medical professional providing treatment first.

If you have received treatment in hospital, you can contact the hospital’s complaints department.

You can initiate the Medical Associations’ arbitration procedure before going to court.

You can file a court action with the civil court which has jurisdiction.

How do I find a registered specialist physician or dentist in Germany? The Associations of Statutory Health Insurance Physicians and many German health insurance funds provide search engines.

You can find a dentist by using the search engines of the Associations of Statutory Health Insurance Dentists.
How do I find a hospital in Germany which carries out the operation that I would like to undergo? The German Hospital Federation and many German health insurance funds provide appropriate search engines.
Can the German hospital require me to make an advance payment if my health insurer has given me a written consent to cost acceptance? The hospital can as a matter of principle require you to make an advance payment if you do not submit a European Health Insurance Card, a Provisional Replacement Certificate, or an E112 or S2 form.
How long do I have to wait for treatment in Germany? There are no waiting lists in Germany. You can phone the medical professional providing treatment whom you have selected directly and arrange an appointment.

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Sie möchten sich in Deutschland behandeln lassen und haben noch Fragen?

Anbei haben wir eine Übersicht von Antworten für Sie zusammengestellt, die wir oft im Rahmen unserer Beratung geben. Durch Anklicken der entsprechenden Antwort können Sie weitere Informationen zu diesem Thema erhalten. Gerne können Sie auch direkt Kontakt mit uns aufnehmen, um Einzelheiten oder weitere Aspekte zu klären.

Frage Antwort
Worüber muss mich die Behandlerseite vor der Behandlung informieren? Sie müssen über die Behandlung, ihre Risiken und die voraussichtlichen Kosten aufgeklärt werden; letzteres in schriftlicher Form.
Muss ich dem Eingriff vorher ausdrücklich zustimmen und wenn ja, in welcher Form? Eine vorherige Einwilligung muss grundsätzlich mündlich, schriftlich, ausdrücklich oder konkludent erfolgen.
Was muss die Behandlerseite in der Patientenakte dokumentieren? In der Patientenakte müssen alle wesentliche Maßnahmen und Ergebnisse aufgezeichnet werden.
Habe ich ein Recht auf Einsicht in meine Patientenakte und sind damit Kosten verbunden? Ja, wenn Sie Abschriften benötigen, sind diese jedoch kostenpflichtig.
Habe ich Anspruch auf eine Dolmetscherin oder einen Dolmetscher, wenn ich die Behandelnden aufgrund mangelnder Deutschkenntnisse nicht verstehe? Sie können natürlich jederzeit eine Dolmetscherin oder einen Dolmetscher hinzuziehen, die Kosten sind jedoch von Ihnen zu tragen.
Welche Möglichkeiten der Kostenbeteiligung meiner Krankenversicherung habe ich, wenn ich mich in einem deutschen Krankenhaus behandeln lassen möchte? Sie können versuchen, einen Vordruck E112 oder S2 von Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger zu erhalten und sich zu dessen Lasten wie eine in Deutschland gesetzlich krankenversicherte Person behandeln zu lassen.

Alternativ können Sie versuchen sich auf der Grundlage der Patientenrichtlinie wie ein Privatpatient in Deutschland behandeln zu lassen und eine zumindest teilweise Erstattung durch Ihren Versicherungsträger zu erwirken.
Was kann ich tun, wenn ich den Eindruck habe, dass ich fehlerhaft behandelt wurde? Sprechen Sie als erstes den Behandler an.

Bei einer Behandlung im Krankenhaus können Sie Kontakt zu der Beschwerdestelle des Krankenhauses aufnehmen.

Sie haben die Möglichkeit ein vorgerichtliches Schlichtungsverfahren bei den Ärztekammern einzuleiten.

Sie können eine Klage vor dem zuständigen Zivilgericht einreichen.
Wie finde ich niedergelassene Ärztinnen und Ärzte oder Zahnärztinnen und Zahnärzte in Deutschland? Die Kassenärztlichen Vereinigungen und zahlreiche deutsche Krankenkassen stellen entsprechende Suchmaschinen zur Verfügung.

Auch die Kassenzahnärztlichen Vereinigungen verfügen über entsprechende Suchmaschinen.
Wie finde ich ein Krankenhaus in Deutschland, das die von mir gewünschte Operation durchführt? Die Deutsche Krankenhausgesellschaft und zahlreiche deutsche Krankenkassen stellen entsprechende Suchmaschinen zur Verfügung.
Kann das deutsche Krankenhaus eine Vorauszahlung von mir verlangen, wenn mir mein Krankenversicherungsträger schriftlich eine Kostenübernahmeerklärung mitgegeben hat? Grundsätzlich kann das Krankenhaus eine Vorauszahlung verlangen, wenn kein/e Europäische Krankenversicherungskarte, Provisorische Ersatzbescheinigung, Vordruck E112 oder S2 vorgelegt wird.
Wie lange muss ich auf eine Behandlung in Deutschland warten? In Deutschland gibt es keine Wartelisten. Sie können direkt bei den von Ihnen ausgewählten Behandlerinnen und Behandlern anrufen und einen Termin vereinbaren.

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular