Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Assumption of costs in case of planned treatment as if you had statutory health insurance in Germany (form E 112 or S2)

What benefits can I receive in Germany? What do I have to clarify with my healthcare insurer prior to undergoing treatment in Germany? What do I do once I am in Germany? Might I have to pay all or only a part of the treatment costs myself? We will be answering these questions below.

You seek authorisation for the treatment from your healthcare insurer in your home country in advance. Your healthcare insurer issues an E 112 or S2 form for this. This will enable you to document that you would like to be treated as if you had statutory health insurance in Germany and that your healthcare insurer will pay the cost. You will always need to have treatment that you would like to take up on the basis of an E112 or S2 form approved by your healthcare insurer before the treatment starts.

Range of benefits

What benefits you can take up within the EC regulations depends on the statutory range of benefits of the treatment state. If you undergo treatment in Germany, you can therefore only take up benefits to which persons who have statutory health insurance in Germany would also be entitled if they satisfied the same preconditions. If the law of your home country provides for the benefit which you are seeking, such as a certain form of treatment, but German law does not, you can also not undergo this treatment in Germany. The fastest way for you to find out what benefits Germany provides for persons with statutory health insurance is by enquiring to the statutory health insurance funds or healthcare providers. You are also welcome to address your questions to us.

Proceeding within the EC regulations can therefore entail either a restriction in an individual case, or it can open up a broader range of treatment to you. If for instance German law provides for a benefit for persons with statutory health insurance which is unknown under the law of your home country, your healthcare insurer may nonetheless authorise you to undergo the treatment in Germany. However, it is not obliged to do so.

Authorisation

In order to be able to take up benefits within the EC regulations to which persons with statutory health insurance in Germany are entitled, you always require the authorisation of your healthcare insurer. You must present the authorisation to one of the many German health insurance funds before commencing treatment. You can therefore select a German health insurance fund. This also applies to treatment which your healthcare insurer would not have to authorise for you were you to have the treatment carried out in your own country.

It is generally at the discretion of your healthcare insurer whether it authorises a specific treatment in a Member State. It is not obliged to authorise treatment if

  • suitable treatment could be provided in your own country, or
  • the benefit which you are seeking is not included within the range of its statutory benefits.

Your healthcare insurer may however also give its authorisation in such cases.

It is obliged to give its authorisation in certain instances. This applies if the treatment which you wished to receive is provided in accordance with the legislation of your country for your disease and cannot be provided in your home country within a period which is medically justified. The assessment of the justifiable period is dependent on your state of health and on the prognosis of your disease.

Issuing a form E 112 or S2

If your healthcare insurer authorises the treatment in Germany in advance, it will issue you with a form E 112 or S2 as documentation of the authorisation. Your healthcare insurer can issue this authorisation either for the treatment for which you have applied, or indeed for a specific healthcare provider, and for a specific place and a specific duration.

Assume that you would like to have a computer tomography carried out in Germany and would not have to have this examination authorised by your healthcare insurer if you went to a physician in your home country. Assume also that you have selected a healthcare provider in Germany whose surgery is easier for you to reach than that of a provider in your home country, and that the physician whom you have selected is a contract doctor who is registered in Germany.

You can apply to your healthcare insurer to be treated as if you had statutory health insurance in Germany. If your healthcare insurer authorises your treatment, it issues you with a form E 112 or S2. It can restrict authorisation either to this treatment or to this healthcare provider, and for a specific duration, but is not obliged to make any such restriction.

The healthcare provider (e.g. doctor) whom you have selected may establish that the treatment that has been authorised is not sufficient. If your healthcare insurer has restricted the authorisation to a specific treatment when issuing the first form, you now need to apply for a fresh authorisation, that is a new form E 112 or S2.

Selecting a German health insurance fund

If you have received authorisation in the context of the EC regulations to take up a medical benefit in Germany, please take this authorisation to one of the many German health insurance funds. You will find an overview of the health insurance funds in Germany in the linkbox below.

Costs and co-payments

If you have opted to receive treatment within the EC regulation, we recommend you to arrange with the German health insurance fund which you have selected, prior to undergoing treatment, what costs can be assumed or reimbursed according to the legislation applying to that fund. If there are costs which you have had to pay yourself, you can apply for a full or partial reimbursement once the treatment is over. You can make the application either

  • directly to a health insurance fund in Germany which you have selected, or
  • to your foreign healthcare insurer.

Co-payments are also provided for under the German legislation in certain cases (for instance for patient transport, hospital treatment or dispensing prescriptions). As the form E112 or S2 enables you to be treated exactly as if you had statutory health insurance in Germany, you initially have to meet these costs yourself. The co-payments do not exceed 10.00 Euro per benefit. You will find more information in the linkbox below.

Once the treatment is over, you can try to file an application to your healthcare insurer in your home country to have the remaining co-payments reimbursed.

If you have received authorisation from your healthcare insurer to undergo in-patient treatment in Germany (form E 112 or S2), and have submitted the authorisation to a German health insurance fund, which in turn has issued you with a billing certificate for the hospital in Germany, the hospital can use this to bill for its costs to the German health insurance fund which you have selected.

A co-payment of 10,00 Euro per day is due in Germany as a rule for each day spent in hospital, for up to a maximum of 28 days.

You should submit the remaining co-payments to your healthcare insurer, who will examine whether they can reimburse these to you in full or in part. They can be reimbursed if your healthcare insurer would have paid a higher amount for this benefit in your home country.

Whether overnight costs and travel expenses or additional costs related to cross-border healthcare are reimbursed depends on a large number of factors, and can therefore not be answered in general terms. Please clarify any questions you may have directly with your healthcare insurer.

Advantages and disadvantages of being treated as if you had statutory health insurance (form E 112 or S2)

The above authorisation procedure offers you the certainty that the cost of the treatment will largely be met.

You must however always obtain the authorisation of your health insurance fund before undergoing treatment in Germany. You may furthermore only be treated in Germany by healthcare providers who have a contractual arrangement with the German statutory health insurance funds.

Documents and Links

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Finding healthcare providers

You will find here a list of links to search engines available on the Internet, with explanations

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in Germany at a glance

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Kostenübernahme bei geplanter Behandlung wie eine gesetzlich krankenversicherte Person in Deutschland (Vordruck E 112 oder S2)

Welche Leistungen kann ich in Deutschland erhalten? Was muss ich mit meinem Krankenversicherungsträger vor der Behandlung in Deutschland klären? Wie gehe ich vor Ort in Deutschland vor? Muss ich möglicherweise alle oder nur einen Teil der Behandlungskosten selber tragen? Im Folgenden geben wir Ihnen hierauf eine Antwort.

Sie lassen sich die Behandlung im Vorfeld in Ihrem Heimatland von Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger genehmigen. Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger stellt Ihnen dafür einen Vordruck E 112 oder S2 aus. Damit weisen Sie in Deutschland nach, dass Sie wie eine in Deutschland gesetzlich krankenversicherte Person behandelt werden möchten und dass Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger die Kosten übernimmt.

Leistungsumfang

Welche Leistungen Sie im Rahmen der EG-Verordnungen in Anspruch nehmen können, richtet sich nach dem gesetzlichen Leistungsspektrum des Behandlungsstaates. Wenn Sie sich in Deutschland behandeln lassen, können Sie deshalb nur Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen, die auch in Deutschland gesetzlich krankenversicherten Personen bei Erfüllen der gleichen Voraussetzungen zustehen würden. Sieht zwar das Recht Ihres Heimatlandes die von Ihnen gewünschte Leistung vor, z. B. eine bestimmte Behandlungsform, nicht aber das deutsche Recht, können Sie sich auch nicht in Deutschland entsprechend behandeln lassen. Welche Leistungen Deutschland für gesetzlich Krankenversicherte anbietet, erfahren Sie am schnellsten von den gesetzlichen Krankenkassen oder den Leistungserbringern. Sie können sich auch gerne mit Ihren Fragen an uns wenden.

Ein Vorgehen im Rahmen der EG-Verordnungen kann folglich im Einzelfall entweder eine Einschränkung bedeuten oder Ihnen ein breiteres Behandlungsspektrum ermöglichen. Kennt z. B. das deutsche Recht eine Leistung für gesetzlich Krankenversicherte, die das Recht Ihres Heimatlandes nicht kennt, kann Ihnen Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger dennoch die Behandlung in Deutschland genehmigen. Eine Verpflichtung hierzu besteht allerdings nicht (siehe "Genehmigung").

Genehmigung

Um im Rahmen der EG-Verordnungen Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen zu können, die gesetzlich krankenversicherten Personen in Deutschland zur Verfügung stehen, benötigen Sie immer eine Genehmigung Ihres Krankenversicherungsträgers. Die Genehmigung müssen Sie vor Behandlungsbeginn bei einer der zahlreichen deutschen Krankenkassen vorlegen. Sie können sich also eine deutsche Krankenkasse aussuchen. Das gilt auch für Behandlungen, die Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger Ihnen bei Durchführung der Behandlung im eigenen Land nicht genehmigen müsste.

Ob Ihnen Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger eine bestimmte Behandlung in einem Mitgliedstaat genehmigt, liegt in der Regel in dessen Ermessen. Er muss keine Genehmigung erteilen, wenn

  • eine geeignete Behandlung im eigenen Land möglich ist oder
  • die von Ihnen gewünschte Leistung nicht zu seinem gesetzlichen Leistungsumfang gehört.

Dennoch kann Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger auch in diesen Fällen eine Genehmigung erteilen.

In bestimmten Fällen besteht eine Pflicht zum Erteilen der Genehmigung. Dies ist der Fall, wenn die von Ihnen gewünschte Behandlung nach den Rechtsvorschriften Ihres Heimatlandes für Ihre Erkrankung vorgesehen ist und in Ihrem Heimatland nicht in einem medizinisch vertretbaren Zeitraum erbracht werden kann. Ausschlaggebend für die Beurteilung des vertretbaren Zeitraums sind Ihr Gesundheitszustand sowie der voraussichtliche Verlauf Ihrer Krankheit.

Ausstellen eines Vordrucks E 112 oder S2

Genehmigt Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger im Vorfeld die Behandlung in Deutschland, stellt er Ihnen als Nachweis der Genehmigung einen Vordruck mit der Bezeichnung E 112 oder S2 aus. Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger kann diese Genehmigung entweder für die beantragte Behandlung oder auch für einen bestimmten Gesundheitsdienstleister sowie für einen bestimmten Ort und eine festgelegte Dauer ausstellen.

Sie wollen eine Computertomographie in Deutschland machen lassen. Würden Sie zu einer Ärztin oder einem Arzt in Ihrem Heimatland gehen, müssten Sie sich diese Untersuchung nicht von Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger genehmigen lassen. Sie haben sich aber für einen Leistungserbringer in Deutschland entschieden, dessen Praxis für Sie besser erreichbar ist als diejenige eines Leistungserbringers Ihres Heimatlandes. Die Ärztin oder der Arzt Ihrer Wahl ist in Deutschland eine zugelassene Vertragsärztin oder ein zugelassener Vertragsarzt.

Sie können bei Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger beantragen, wie eine in Deutschland gesetzlich krankenversicherte Person behandelt zu werden. Genehmigt Ihnen Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger die Behandlung, stellt er Ihnen den Vordruck E 112 oder S2 aus. Er kann die Genehmigung auf diese Behandlung, auf diesen Behandler und auf ein bestimmtes Zeitfenster begrenzen, muss eine Einschränkung in dieser Weise aber nicht vornehmen.

Möglicherweise stellt der von Ihnen gewählte Gesundheitsdienstleister (z. B. die Ärztin, der Arzt) fest, dass die genehmigte Behandlung nicht ausreicht. Hatte Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger die Genehmigung im ersten Vordruck auf eine bestimmte Behandlung beschränkt, müssen Sie nun eine erneute Genehmigung beantragen, also einen weiteren Vordruck E 112 bzw. S2.

Wahl einer deutschen Krankenkasse

Wenn Sie im Rahmen der EG-Verordnungen eine Genehmigung erhalten haben, eine medizinische Leistung in Deutschland in Anspruch zu nehmen, wenden Sie sich mit dieser Genehmigung an eine der zahlreichen deutschen Krankenkassen. Einen Überblick über die Krankenkassen in Deutschland finden Sie in der unten abgebildeten Linkbox.

Kosten und Eigenbeteiligungen

Wenn Sie sich für eine Behandlung im Rahmen der EG-Verordnung entschieden haben, empfehlen wir Ihnen, bereits vor der Behandlung mit der von Ihnen gewählten deutschen Krankenkasse zu klären, welche Kosten nach deren Rechtsvorschriften übernommen bzw. erstattet werden. Sofern Sie selbst Kosten tragen mussten, können Sie nach der Behandlung die anteilige bzw. komplette Erstattung beantragen. Den Antrag können Sie entweder

  • direkt bei einer von Ihnen gewählten deutschen Krankenkasse in Deutschland oder
  • bei Ihrem ausländischen Krankenversicherungsträger stellen.

Auch nach deutschen Rechtsvorschriften werden in bestimmten Fällen (zum Beispiel für Krankentransporte, Krankenhausbehandlungen oder Einlösen von Verschreibungen) Zuzahlungen und Eigenbeteiligungen vorgesehen. Da Sie mittels Vordruck E112 oder S2 genauso behandelt werden wie in Deutschland gesetzlich krankenversicherte Personen, müssen Sie diese zunächst selbst tragen. Die Zuzahlungen überschreiten den Betrag von 10,00 Euro pro Leistung nicht. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der unten abgebildeten Linkbox.

Nach der Behandlung können Sie versuchen bei Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger im Heimatland einen Erstattungsantrag für die Ihnen verbliebenen Eigenanteile zu stellen.

Sie haben für eine stationäre Behandlung in Deutschland eine Genehmigung Ihres Krankenversicherungsträgers erhalten (Vordruck E 112 oder S2). Die Genehmigung haben Sie einer deutschen Krankenkasse vorgelegt, die Ihnen daraufhin einen Abrechnungsschein für das Krankenhaus in Deutschland zur Verfügung gestellt hat. Mit diesem kann das Krankenhaus seine Kosten gegenüber der von Ihnen gewählten deutschen Krankenkasse abrechnen.

In Deutschland fallen in der Regel für längstens 28 Tage pro Tag im Krankenhaus 10,00 Euro an Eigenanteilen an.

Reichen Sie die Ihnen verbliebenen Eigenanteile bei Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger ein. Dieser prüft, ob er Ihnen diese ganz oder teilweise erstatten kann. Eine Erstattung ist möglich, wenn Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger für diese Leistung in Ihrem Heimatland einen höheren Betrag gezahlt hätte.

Ob Übernachtungs- und Reisekosten oder zusätzliche Kosten im Rahmen der grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsversorgung erstattet werden, ist von vielen Faktoren abhängig und kann daher nicht allgemein beantwortet werden. Klären Sie etwaige Fragen bitte direkt mit Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger.

Vor- und Nachteile einer Behandlung wie gesetzlich Krankenversicherte (Vordruck E 112 oder S2)

Das oben beschriebene Genehmigungsverfahren bietet Ihnen die Sicherheit, dass die Kosten der Behandlung weitestgehend übernommen werden.

Allerdings müssen Sie vor einer Behandlung in Deutschland immer die Genehmigung Ihrer Krankenkasse einholen. Zudem dürfen Sie sich in Deutschland nur von Gesundheitsdienstleistern behandeln lassen, die in einem Vertragsverhältnis zu den deutschen gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungen stehen.

Dokumente und Links

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Gesundheits- dienstleister finden

Wir bieten Ihnen hier eine kommentierte Linkliste zu Suchmaschinen im Internet.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung in Deutschland auf einen Blick