Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

What do I have to consider before undergoing treatment?

There are a few things that you have to take care of in advance before undergoing treatment in Germany and which you should clarify with your healthcare provider, such as what documents the doctor or dentist needs from your medical records.

If you come to Germany for treatment within the Patient Mobility Directive, you have at your disposal all healthcare providers who are recognised by the state in Germany, such as doctors or dentists. Our search engine page helps you to find a suitable healthcare provider.

There are no waiting lists in Germany, unlike many other countries in Europe. You can therefore phone the medical professional providing treatment whom you have selected directly and arrange an appointment. Hospitals frequently have a separate “International Office” to deal with the needs of foreign patients which will help you address your concerns.

What information should I give to the doctor or dentist in Germany?

If you specifically enter Germany in order to undergo medical treatment here, you will need to provide the doctor or dentist treating you there in advance with details of your treatment history. This is the only way that the doctor or dentist can ensure that the treatment is successful. Information on treatment that has been carried out in the state in which you live may also be important here. You will find this for instance in your medical records.

Medical records

Before undergoing any treatment, ask the doctor or dentist in attendance in Germany what documents he/she needs from your medical records. In accordance with the Patient Mobility Directive, you are entitled to at least one copy of your medical records relating to the treatment in the state in which you live. If necessary, you may have the copies faxed to you. However, you have to meet the cost of making the copies yourself. The information from your medical records can for instance avoid duplicate examinations. You should have medical findings containing important information related to treatment which you only have in German translated beforehand so that your doctor or dentist can use them.

If you have any problems obtaining the necessary documents from your medical records, please contact your healthcare insurer or the National Contact Point of the state in which you live.

Documents and Links

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Finding healthcare providers

You will find here a list of links to search engines available on the Internet, with explanations

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in Germany at a glance

Advice on patients’ rights

Brochure from the Federal Government Commissioner for Patients’ Affairs

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Was muss ich vor der Behandlung beachten?

Vor einer Behandlung in Deutschland gibt es einige Dinge, auf die Sie im Vorfeld achten und die Sie vorab mit den Behandelnden klären sollten, z. B. welche Unterlagen aus Ihrer Patientenakte benötigt werden.

Wenn Sie im Rahmen der Richtlinie zur Patientenmobilität zur Behandlung nach Deutschland kommen, stehen Ihnen alle in Deutschland staatlich anerkannten Gesundheitsdienstleister zur Verfügung. Unsere Suchmaschinenseite hilft Ihnen dabei, eine passende Behandlerin oder einen Behandler zu finden.

Im Gegensatz zu zahlreichen anderen Staaten in Europa kennt Deutschland keine Wartelisten. Sie können deshalb direkt bei dem von Ihnen ausgewählten Behandler anrufen und einen Termin vereinbaren. In Krankenhäusern gibt es oft ein „International Office“, das sich besonders um die Bedürfnisse ausländischer Patienten kümmert und Ihnen bei Ihrem Anliegen weiterhilft.

Welche Informationen sollte ich für die Behandlerseite in Deutschland bereithalten?

Sollten Sie gezielt zu einer medizinischen Behandlung nach Deutschland einreisen, klären Sie bitte im Vorfeld die Behandlerseite umfassend über Ihre Krankheitsgeschichte auf. Nur so kann eine erfolgreiche Behandlung gewährleistet werden. Dabei können auch Informationen zu erfolgten Behandlungen in Ihrem Wohnstaat wichtig sein. Diese erhalten Sie zum Beispiel aus Ihrer Patientenakte.

Patientenakte

Fragen Sie vor der Behandlung bei den Behandelnden nach, welche Unterlagen aus Ihrer Patientenakte benötigt werden. Nach der Richtlinie zur Patientenmobilität steht Ihnen mindestens eine Kopie Ihrer Patientenakte aus den Behandlungen im Wohnstaat zu. Falls nötig, können Sie sich die Kopien auch faxen lassen. Die Kosten für die Kopien tragen Sie allerdings selbst. Mit den Informationen aus Ihrer Patientenakte können z.B. Doppeluntersuchungen vermieden werden. Medizinische Befunde, die wichtige Informationen im Zusammenhang mit der Behandlung beinhalten und Ihnen nicht auf Deutsch vorliegen, sollten im Vorfeld ggf. übersetzt werden, damit man sie nutzen kann.

Sollten Sie Probleme damit haben, sich die notwendigen Unterlagen aus Ihrer Patientenakte zu besorgen, setzen Sie sich bitte mit Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger oder mit der nationalen Kontaktstelle Ihres Wohnstaates in Verbindung.

Dokumente und Links

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Gesundheits- dienstleister finden

Wir bieten Ihnen hier eine kommentierte Linkliste zu Suchmaschinen im Internet.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung in Deutschland auf einen Blick

Ratgeber für Patientenrechte

Broschüre des Patientenbeauftragten der Bundesregierung