Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Scope of treatment

If you undergo treatment in Germany within the framework of the Patient Mobility Directive, you can even enjoy more benefits than persons in Germany who have statutory health insurance. There are however some costs which you have to pay yourself.

If you undergo treatment in Germany provided by a healthcare provider within the framework of the European Patient Mobility Directive, the range of services provided by the doctor is not limited to those which may be provided by the healthcare provider in Germany for persons with statutory health insurance. Public vaccination programmes, organ transplantation as well as long-term care are completely excluded from the range of the Directive. If you need information on cross-border healthcare regarding these three topics, please contact your healthcare insurer.

The range of benefits provided for persons with statutory health insurance in Germany includes all medically-necessary benefits, but some benefits are excluded. These include treatment by the head doctor in the hospital, some dental and dental laboratory services or cosmetic surgery. These restrictions do not apply if you take up the benefits privately. In this case you should also clarify in advance whether your healthcare insurer might meet the costs of such treatment in Germany in full or in part. You can naturally also take up all benefits from the range of benefits for persons with statutory health insurance in Germany privately. The healthcare provider is however no longer bound in such cases by the cost rates that are applicable to persons with statutory health insurance. You may therefore also incur considerable co-payments here, too.

As a rule, the healthcare provider will require you to pay for the benefit upfront if you undergo private treatment.

As you can see by this, treatment within the European Patient Mobility Directive on the one hand offers more types of treatment than treatment with the prior authorisation of your healthcare insurer within the EC Regulation. On the other hand, there is a risk that some of the benefits provided will not be subsequently reimbursed by your healthcare insurer. Where possible, therefore, you should always obtain a cost estimate from the healthcare provider prior to undergoing treatment. This will enable you to ask your healthcare insurer in advance whether and if so what amount of the costs it will reimburse to you. You will therefore know precisely what share of the treatment costs you have to meet yourself.

Documents and Links

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Finding healthcare providers

You will find here a list of links to search engines available on the Internet, with explanations

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in Germany at a glance

Advice on patients’ rights

Brochure from the Federal Government Commissioner for Patients’ Affairs

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Behandlungsumfang

Wenn Sie sich im Rahmen der Richtlinie zur Patientenmobilität in Deutschland behandeln lassen, können Sie sogar mehr Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen als gesetzlich Krankenversicherte in Deutschland. Manche Kosten müssen Sie allerdings selbst tragen.

Wenn Sie sich von einem Gesundheitsdienstleister in Deutschland im Rahmen der Europäischen Richtlinie zur Patientenmobilität behandeln lassen, ist das Leistungsspektrum der Ärztin oder des Arztes/der Zahnärztin oder des Zahnarztes nicht auf die Leistungen begrenzt, die in Deutschland für gesetzlich Krankenversicherte vom Gesundheitsdienstleister erbracht werden dürfen. Von der Richtlinie gänzlich ausgeschlossen sind jedoch öffentliche Impfprogramme, Organtransplantation und Langzeitpflege. Wenn Sie eine Beratung zur grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsversorgung bzgl. dieser drei Themen benötigen, wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihren Krankenversicherungsträger.

Zwar umfasst auch das Leistungsspektrum in Deutschland alle medizinisch notwendigen Leistungen, allerdings sind einige Leistungen hiervon ausgenommen. Hierzu gehören z. B. Chefarztbehandlungen im Krankenhaus, einige zahnmedizinische und zahntechnische Leistungen oder Schönheitsoperationen. Diese Einschränkungen gelten nicht, wenn Sie die Leistung privat in Anspruch nehmen. Auch in diesem Fall sollten Sie jedoch im Vorfeld klären, ob Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger die Kosten einer solchen Behandlung in Deutschland ganz oder teilweise trägt. Selbstverständlich können Sie auch alle Leistungen aus dem Leistungsspektrum für gesetzlich Krankenversicherte in Deutschland privat in Anspruch nehmen. Der Gesundheitsdienstleister ist in diesem Fall allerdings nicht mehr an die Kostensätze gebunden, die für gesetzlich Krankenversicherte gelten. Auch hier können Ihnen daher erhebliche Eigenanteile verbleiben.

Im Regelfall wird der Gesundheitsdienstleister, wenn Sie sich privat behandeln lassen, von Ihnen verlangen, dass Sie die Leistung im Voraus bezahlen.

Wie Sie daran erkennen können, eröffnet eine Behandlung im Rahmen der Europäischen Richtlinie zur Patientenmobilität auf der einen Seite mehr Behandlungsmöglichkeiten als eine Behandlung mit vorheriger Genehmigung durch Ihren Krankenversicherungsträger im Rahmen der EG-Verordnung. Auf der anderen Seite besteht aber das Risiko, dass einige der erbrachten Leistungen von Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger im Nachhinein nicht erstattet werden. Lassen Sie sich daher nach Möglichkeit immer vor einer Behandlung einen Kostenvoranschlag vom Gesundheitsdienstleister erstellen. Damit können Sie bei Ihrem Krankenversicherungsträger bereits im Vorfeld erfragen, ob und in welcher Höhe er Ihnen die Kosten erstattet. So wissen Sie genau, welchen Anteil der Behandlungskosten Sie selbst tragen müssen.

Dokumente und Links

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Gesundheits- dienstleister finden

Wir bieten Ihnen hier eine kommentierte Linkliste zu Suchmaschinen im Internet.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung in Deutschland auf einen Blick

Ratgeber für Patientenrechte

Broschüre des Patientenbeauftragten der Bundesregierung