Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

How do I present my prescriptions?

If your doctor or dentist in the state of treatment has issued a prescription, you can present it directly in the state of treatment or after returning to Germany. We will tell you what you need to look out for.

If the doctor or dentist prescribes you medicinal products or medicinal devices (for instance a medicine or an aid such as a bandage) in the context of the treatment, you can present the prescription in the state of treatment, in Germany, in another Member State, in Switzerland or in one of the EEA States Iceland, Liechtenstein or Norway.

If you have private health insurance, you should approach your insurance company directly.

If you have private health insurance in Germany and want to present a prescription in another country, please address any questions that you may have directly to your German health insurance company.

If you have statutory health insurance: presenting prescriptions in the state of treatment

We recommend you to present any prescriptions which you received when undergoing treatment in another EU country directly in the state of treatment.

If you are unsure about where to present your prescription, ask the doctor or dentist treating you or go to a chemist. You can also seek information from the respective National Contact Point in the state of treatment.

If you have undergone treatment as if you had statutory health insurance in another Member State, in an EEA State or in Switzerland via an E 112 or S2 form (you will find more information on this in the column entitled “Who has to pay?”), the medicinal products and medicinal devices which have been prescribed will be assumed and reimbursed in accordance with the legal provisions of the state of treatment. Larger aids, such as wheelchairs, will however only be provided if they are noted on the E 112 or S2 form. Otherwise, you need another E 112 or S2 form for this if you wish to receive the aid whilst you are still in the state of treatment.

If a co-payment is charged for medicinal products and medicinal devices in the state of treatment, you have to pay this yourself. It is however possible that your German health insurance fund will reimburse at least part of these costs to you. You will find more information on this in the column entitled “Who has to pay?”.

The amount of the co-payment varies from one country to another. You can obtain detailed information on the amount of the co-payments payable in the state of treatment from the statutory health insurance fund of the state of treatment.

If you have received private benefits in one of the states mentioned above (without an E 112 or S2 form), you have to pay for the medicinal products and medicinal devices yourself. Your health insurance fund will reimburse the costs to you up to the amount that it would have paid had the prescription been presented in Germany. It also takes into account here the co-payments which you have to pay under German law, and can furthermore make deductions for administrative costs and if no value-for-money audits have been carried out.

Note on presenting prescriptions in other Member States, for instance in Germany

It is possible as a matter of principle to present a prescription issued in the state of treatment in a state which is not the state of treatment (and therefore also in Germany). Since the products that have been prescribed, their compositions or forms of administration may vary from one state to another, we however currently recommend you not to do so as a matter of principle.

If however you would like to present a prescription in another country, or need to do so, please inform the doctor or dentist in the state of treatment accordingly. In this case, the prescription must satisfy certain requirements as to its content.

  • Name(s) of the patient
  • Forename(s) (written out, i.e. not only initials)
  • Date of birth
  • Date issued
  • Name(s) of the prescribing doctor or dentist
  • Forename(s) (written out)
  • Professional qualification
  • Direct contact information (e-mail and telephone or fax number, in each case with the international dialling code)
  • Office address (including the name of the Member State in question)
  • Signature (handwritten or digital, depending on the medium on which the prescription is issued)

Identity of the medicinal product prescribed where necessary

  • The “common name” of the medicinal product in accordance with European directives (2001/83/EC) (International Non-proprietary Name). The brand name is only used in exceptional cases.
  • Form of administration (tablet, solution, etc.)
  • Amount
  • Strength
  • Dosage
  • Name(s) of the patient
  • Forename(s) (written out)
  • Date of birth
  • Date issued
  • Name(s) of the prescribing doctor or dentist
  • Forename(s) (written out)
  • Professional qualification
  • Direct contact information (e-mail and telephone or fax number, in each case with the international dialling code)
  • Office address (including the name of the Member State in question)
  • Signature (handwritten or digital, depending on the medium on which the prescription is issued)

Identity of the medicinal device prescribed, where necessary

  • “Common name” of the medicinal device

If you present the prescription in Germany, your healthcare insurer will reimburse the costs in Germany as if the prescription had been issued by a healthcare provider (such as a doctor) in Germany. Only the co-payment payable under German law remains payable by you.

Difficulties encountered when presenting prescriptions in Germany

The procedure for the cross-border presentation of prescriptions from other Member States is still rather new. We therefore recommend you to present prescriptions in the state of treatment.

The following practical problems may occur when presenting prescriptions in Germany:

  • The medicinal product or medicinal device prescribed is not available in Germany (in this form) or is unknown under the name given in the prescription.
  • The pharmacist or other healthcare provider in Germany understands the prescriptions wrongly or not at all.
  • The doctor or dentist in the state of treatment has prescribed you an aid which you would like to have dispensed for instance in a medical supply store in Germany. The aid that has been prescribed is however not listed in the German “Medical aids list”.

Documents and Links

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Find National Contact Points of other EU countries

You will find here a list of National Contact Points of the EU with several contact informations.

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in another EU country at a glance

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Wie löse ich meine Verschreibungen ein?

Wenn Ihnen Ihre Ärztin oder Ihr Arzt/Ihre Zahnärztin oder Ihr Zahnarzt im Behandlungsstaat ein Rezept bzw. eine Verschreibung ausgestellt hat, können Sie dieses/diese direkt im Behandlungsstaat oder nach Ihrer Rückkehr in Deutschland einlösen. Wir sagen Ihnen, worauf Sie achten sollten.

Wenn Ihnen die Ärztin oder der Arzt/die Zahnärztin oder der Zahnarzt im Rahmen der Behandlung Arzneimittel oder Medizinprodukte (z. B. ein Medikament oder Hilfsmittel wie eine Bandage) verordnet, können Sie die Verschreibung im Behandlungsstaat, in Deutschland, in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat, in der Schweiz oder in einem der EWR-Staaten Island, Liechtenstein oder Norwegen einlösen.

Privat Krankenversicherte wenden sich direkt an ihre Versicherung

Sind Sie in Deutschland privat krankenversichert und wollen eine Verschreibung grenzüberschreitend einlösen, wenden Sie sich bitte mit Fragen direkt an Ihr deutsches Krankenversicherungsunternehmen.

Gesetzlich Versicherte: Einlösen der Verschreibungen im Behandlungsstaat

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, Ihre Verschreibungen, die Sie bei einer Behandlung im EU-Ausland erhalten haben, direkt im Behandlungsstaat einzulösen.

Wenn Sie unsicher sind, wo Sie Ihre Verschreibung einlösen können, fragen Sie die behandelnde Ärztin oder den behandelnden Arzt/die behandelnde Zahnärztin oder den behandelnden Zahnarzt beziehungsweise den Apotheker. Informationen können Sie auch bei der jeweiligen nationalen Kontaktstelle im Behandlungsstaat erhalten.

Wenn Sie sich wie ein gesetzlich Krankenversicherter in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat, einem EWR-Staat oder der Schweiz über einen Vordruck E 112 oder S2 haben behandeln lassen (weitere Informationen hierzu finden Sie in der Rubrik "Wer trägt die Kosten?"), werden die verschriebenen Arzneimittel bzw. Medizinprodukte nach den Rechtsvorschriften des Behandlungsstaats übernommen bzw. erstattet. Größere Hilfsmittel, z. B. Rollstühle, werden allerdings nur dann zur Verfügung gestellt, wenn diese auch auf dem Vordruck E 112 oder S2 vermerkt sind. Andernfalls benötigen Sie hierfür einen weiteren Vordruck E 112 bzw. S2, wenn Sie das Hilfsmittel noch im Behandlungsstaat erhalten wollen.

Falls im Behandlungsstaat ein Eigenanteil für Arzneimittel bzw. Medizinprodukte verlangt wird, müssen Sie dafür selbst aufkommen. Es kann aber sein, dass Ihre deutsche Krankenkasse Ihnen diese Kosten zumindest zum Teil erstattet. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie in der Rubrik „Wer trägt die Kosten?“.

Wie hoch der Eigenanteil ist, variiert von Staat zu Staat. Nähere Auskünfte über die Höhe der im Behandlungsstaat zu zahlenden Eigenanteile erhalten Sie bei der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherung des Behandlungsstaats.

Wenn Sie in einem der oben genannten Staaten private Leistungen (ohne einen Vordruck E 112 bzw. S2) in Anspruch genommen haben, müssen Sie die Arzneimittel bzw. Medizinprodukte selber bezahlen. Ihre Krankenkasse erstattet Ihnen die Kosten bis zu der Höhe, die sie bei Einlösung der Verschreibung in Deutschland getragen hätte. Dabei berücksichtigt sie auch die von Ihnen nach deutschem Recht zu zahlenden Eigenanteile und kann außerdem einen Abzug für Verwaltungskosten und fehlende Wirtschaftlichkeitsprüfungen vornehmen.

Hinweis zum Einlösen von Verschreibungen in anderen Mitgliedstaaten, z.B. in Deutschland

Es ist grundsätzlich möglich, eine im Behandlungsstaat ausgestellte Verschreibung in einem Staat, der nicht Behandlungsstaat ist (also auch in Deutschland), einzulösen. Da sich die verschriebenen Produkte, ihre Zusammensetzungen oder Darreichungsformen von Staat zu Staat unterscheiden können, raten wir hiervon derzeit jedoch grundsätzlich ab.

Wenn Sie dennoch eine Verschreibung grenzüberschreitend einlösen möchten oder müssen, informieren Sie bitte die Ärztin oder den Arzt/die Zahnärztin oder den Zahnarzt im Behandlungsstaat darüber. In diesem Fall muss die Verschreibung bestimmte inhaltliche Anforderungen erfüllen.

  • Name(n) der Patientin oder des Patienten
  • Vorname(n) (ausgeschrieben, also nicht nur Anfangsbuchstabe)
  • Geburtsdatum
  • Ausstellungsdatum
  • Name(n) der verschreibenden Ärztion oder des verschreibenden Arztes/der verschreibenden Zahnärztin oder des verschreibenden Zahnarztes
  • Vorname(n) (ausgeschrieben)
  • Berufliche Qualifikation
  • Angaben zur unmittelbaren Kontaktaufnahme (E-Mail und Telefon- oder Fax-Nummer, jeweils mit internationaler Vorwahl)
  • Dienstanschrift (einschließlich Name des betreffenden Mitgliedstaates)
  • Unterschrift (handschriftlich oder digital, je nach Medium der Verschreibung)

Bezeichnung des verschriebenen Arzneimittels, sofern erforderlich

  • Die nach europäischen Richtlinien (RL 2001/83/EG) „Gebräuchliche Bezeichnung“ des Arzneimittels (internationaler Freiname). Der Markenname wird nur in Ausnahmefällen genannt.
  • Darreichungsform (Tablette, Lösung usw.)
  • Menge
  • Stärke
  • Dosierung
  • Name der Patiention oder des Patienten
  • Vorname(n) (ausgeschrieben)
  • Geburtsdatum
  • Ausstellungsdatum
  • Name der verschreibenden Ärztin oder des verschreibenden Arztes/der verschreibenden Zahnärztin oder des Zahnarztes
  • Vorname(n) (ausgeschrieben)
  • Berufliche Qualifikation
  • Angaben zur unmittelbaren Kontaktaufnahme (E-Mail und Telefon- oder Fax-Nummer, jeweils mit internationaler Vorwahl)
  • Dienstanschrift (einschließlich Name des betreffenden Mitgliedstaates)
  • Unterschrift (handschriftlich oder digital, je nach Medium der Verschreibung)

Bezeichnung des verschriebenen Medizinprodukts, sofern erforderlich

  • „Gebräuchliche Bezeichnung“ des Medizinprodukts

Wenn Sie die Verschreibung in Deutschland einlösen, erstattet Ihr Krankenversicherungsträger in Deutschland die Kosten, als ob die Verschreibung von einem Gesundheitsdienstleister (z.B. Ärztin oder Arzt) in Deutschland ausgestellt worden wäre. Zu Ihren Lasten bleibt nur der nach deutschem Recht zu zahlende Eigenanteil.

Schwierigkeiten beim Einlösen von Verschreibungen in Deutschland

Das Verfahren der grenzüberschreitenden Einlösung von Verschreibungen aus anderen Mitgliedstaaten ist noch recht neu. Deshalb empfehlen wir Ihnen, Verschreibungen in dem Behandlungsstaat einzulösen.

Folgende praktische Probleme könnten beim Einlösen in Deutschland auftreten:

  • Das verordnete Arzneimittel oder Medizinprodukt steht in Deutschland nicht (in dieser Form) zur Verfügung oder ist unter dem in der Verschreibung angegebenen Namen unbekannt.
  • Die Apothekerin oder der Apotheker bzw. andere Gesundheitsdienstleister in Deutschland versteht/verstehen die Verschreibung falsch bzw. gar nicht.
  • Die Ärztin oder der Arzt/die Zahnärztin oder der Zahnarzt im Behandlungsstaat hat Ihnen eine Verschreibung über ein Hilfsmittel ausgestellt, das Sie z.B. in einem Sanitätshaus in Deutschland einlösen wollen. Das verschriebene Hilfsmittel ist jedoch nicht im sogenannten deutschen Hilfsmittelverzeichnis aufgeführt. Die Kosten können damit nicht von Ihrer gesetzlichen Krankenkasse in Deutschland erstattet werden.

Dokumente und Links

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Kontaktstellen im EU-Ausland finden

Hier finden Sie eine Auflistung von Nationalen Kontaktstellen anderer EU-Staaten.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung im EU-Ausland auf einen Blick