Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Who pays for planned treatment in EU Member States?

If you have health insurance in Germany, you are entitled to receive medical treatment not only in Germany, but also in another Member State or in Switzerland and in the EEA States Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. Whether your health insurance fund assumes the cost of treatment in one of these countries however depends on certain preconditions.

If you do not have statutory health insurance, your claims arise from your private health insurance contract. Contact your private healthcare insurer directly to clarify the range of benefits covered by your insurance contract in case of treatment in another Member State or in one of the states mentioned above.

The following statements refer to a situation in which you have statutory health insurance in Germany and are planning to undergo medical treatment in another Member State or in one of the states mentioned above.

Two ways to reach the goal

If you are planning to travel to another Member State or to one of the states mentioned above to undergo medical treatment there and have statutory health insurance in Germany, there are two possibilities open to you:

  • a) You obtain prior authorisation for the treatment from your health insurance fund, and the fund issues you with a form E 112 or S2 for this purpose. This enables you to show in the state of treatment that you wish to be treated as a patient who has statutory health insurance in that country and that your health insurance fund will pay the bill (please see advantages and disadvantages in the linkbox below).
  • b) You want to take up a benefit which your health insurance fund would also pay for in Germany under the same conditions in another Member State or in one of the above mentioned states. You initially pay the costs incurred yourself and are treated as if you had private health insurance. You then apply for a reimbursement (please see advantages and disadvantages in the linkbox below).

The two possibilities differ in terms of the

  • legal basis
  • prerequisites for your entitlement to treatment
  • payment methods of the healthcare provider
  • reimbursement possibilities
  • co-payments and in some other aspects.

In the first case, at a), your entitlement to treatment is regulated in accordance with the European Regulations on the coordination of social security systems (Regulations (EC) 883/2004 and 987/2009). In the second case, at b), your entitlement is based on section 13 subs. 4 to 6 of Book V of the German Social Code (SGB V). Thus the provisions of the European Patient Mobility Directive – Directive 2011/24/EU – have been transposed into German Law.

We would like to give you an overview for both possibilities and point to the differences. Before making your choice, however, you should always seek the advice of your health insurance fund in person.

Documents and Links

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Find National Contact Points of other EU countries

You will find here a list of National Contact Points of the EU with several contact informations.

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in another EU country at a glance

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Wer trägt die Kosten bei geplanten Behandlungen im EU-Ausland?

Wenn Sie in Deutschland krankenversichert sind haben Sie das Recht, sich nicht nur in Deutschland, sondern auch in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat oder in der Schweiz sowie in den EWR-Staaten Island, Liechtenstein und Norwegen medizinisch behandeln zu lassen. Ob Ihre Krankenkasse die Kosten für eine Behandlung in einem der genannten Staaten übernimmt, hängt jedoch von bestimmten Voraussetzungen ab.

Wenn Sie nicht gesetzlich krankenversichert sind, ergeben sich Ihre Ansprüche aus Ihrem privaten Krankenversicherungsvertrag. Wenden Sie sich direkt an Ihren privaten Krankenversicherungsträger um zu klären, welcher Leistungsumfang bei einer Behandlung in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat oder einem der oben genannten Staaten von Ihrem Versicherungsvertrag abgedeckt ist.

Die folgenden Ausführungen befassen sich mit den Fällen, in denen Sie in Deutschland gesetzlich krankenversichert sind und planen, sich in einem Mitgliedstaat oder einem der oben genannten Staaten medizinisch behandeln zu lassen.

Zwei Wege zum Ziel

Planen Sie in einen der oben genannten Staaten zu reisen, um sich dort medizinisch behandeln zu lassen und sind Sie gesetzlich in Deutschland krankenversichert, stehen Ihnen zwei Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung:

  • a) Sie lassen sich die Behandlung im Vorfeld von Ihrer Krankenkasse genehmigen. Die Krankenkasse stellt Ihnen dafür einen Vordruck E 112 oder S2 aus. Damit weisen Sie im Behandlungsstaat nach, dass Sie wie eine dort gesetzlich krankenversicherte Person behandelt werden wollen und dass Ihre Krankenkasse die Kosten übernimmt (Siehe Vor- und Nachteile in der untenstehenden Linkbox).
  • b) Sie wollen oder müssen eine Leistung, die Ihre Krankenkasse auch in Deutschland übernehmen würde, unter den gleichen Voraussetzungen in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat oder einem der oben genannten Staaten in Anspruch nehmen. Die anfallenden Kosten tragen Sie zunächst selbst und werden wie eine privat krankenversicherte Person behandelt. Im Nachhinein beantragen Sie eine Erstattung (Siehe Vor- und Nachteile in der untenstehenden Linkbox).

Beide Möglichkeiten unterscheiden sich in den

  • Rechtsgrundlagen
  • Voraussetzungen für Ihren Anspruch auf die Behandlung
  • Zahlungsmodalitäten des Gesundheitsdienstleisters
  • Erstattungsmöglichkeiten
  • Eigenbeteiligungen und in einigen anderen Punkten.

Im ersten Fall, unter a), ergeben sich Ihre Ansprüche auf Behandlung unmittelbar aus den Europäischen Verordnungen zur Koordinierung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit (Verordnung (EG) 883/2004 und 987/2009). Im zweiten Fall, unter b), ergeben sie sich aus § 13 Absätze 4 - 6 fünftes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB V). Der deutsche Gesetzgeber hat hier also die Vorgaben der Europäischen Richtlinie zur Patientenmobilität, der Richtlinie 2011/24/EU, in nationales Recht umgesetzt.

Wir geben Ihnen für beide Wege einen Überblick und weisen auf die Unterschiede sowie Vor- und Nachteile hin. Vor einer Entscheidung für einen der beiden Wege sollten Sie sich dennoch immer persönlich von Ihrer Krankenkasse beraten lassen.

Dokumente und Links

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Kontaktstellen im EU-Ausland finden

Hier finden Sie eine Auflistung von Nationalen Kontaktstellen anderer EU-Staaten.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung im EU-Ausland auf einen Blick