Labels

National Contact Point for cross-border healthcare

Bedien-Leiste:
Content
You are here:

Assumption of costs if you are treated as if you had statutory health insurance (form E 112 or S2)

You obtain prior authorisation for the treatment from your health insurance fund, and the fund issues you with a form E 112 or S2 for this purpose. This enables you to show in the state of treatment that you wish to be treated as a patient who has statutory health insurance in that country and that your health insurance fund will pay the bill.

Range of benefits provided

The benefits which you can receive within the framework of the EC Directives depends on the statutory range of benefits of the state of treatment. If German law provides for the service of which you wish to avail yourself, such as a specific form of treatment, but the law in the state of treatment does not, you cannot receive that specific treatment in the state of treatment. The quickest way to find out what benefits the state of treatment offers for persons with statutory health insurance is by consulting the statutory health insurance locally. Proceeding within the EC Directives can therefore mean either a restriction in individual cases, or you may actually have a wider range of benefits at your disposal. If for instance the law of the state of treatment has a benefit for persons with statutory health insurance for which German law does not provide, your German health insurance fund may nonetheless authorise the treatment in the Member State in question. It is however not obliged to do so (see "Authorisation").

Authorisation

In order to be able to take up benefits within the EC Directives which are available to persons with statutory health insurance in the state of treatment, you always need the authorisation of your health insurance fund in Germany. You must submit the authorisation in the Member State before starting treatment. This also applies to treatment which your health insurance fund would not need to authorise in Germany, such as out-patient computer tomography.

Whether your health insurance fund authorises you to undergo specific treatment in a Member State is generally discretionary. It is not obliged to grant authorisation if

  • suitable treatment is available in Germany (which does not have to be identical), or
  • the benefit is not included in the statutory range of benefits in Germany.

The health insurance fund can however also issue an authorisation in such cases.

The health insurance fund must authorise the desired treatment if it is provided for in accordance with the German regulations and cannot be provided in Germany within a medically-justified period. Your state of health and the course which your illness is likely to take are the decisive criteria for assessing the justifiable period.

Issuing an E 112 or S2 form

If your health insurance fund grants prior authorisation for the treatment in a Member State or in one of the states mentioned above, it issues you with a form known as an E 112 or S2 as proof of the authorisation. The health insurance fund can issue this authorisation either for the requested treatment, or for a specific healthcare provider and for a specific place and a defined period.

You would like to have a computer tomography carried out. You would not need to obtain authorisation for this examination from your health insurance fund if you went to a doctor in Germany. However, you have chosen a doctor in Austria whose surgery you can reach more easily than the nearest German doctor, and the doctor whom you have chosen is registered as a Kassenarzt (registered contract doctor) in Austria.

You can apply to your health insurance fund in Germany to be treated as a patient of the statutory health insurance in Austria. If your health insurance fund authorises the treatment, it will issue a form E 112 or S2. It may restrict the authorisation to this treatment, to this doctor and to a specific period, but is not obliged to make any such restrictions.

The healthcare provider you have selected, such as a doctor, may establish that the treatment which has been authorised is not sufficient. If your health insurance fund has restricted the authorisation on the first form to a specific treatment, you need to apply for a renewed authorisation, that is for another form E 112 or S2.

Selection of a statutory healthcare insurer

If you have received an authorisation within the framework of the EC Directives to receive medical treatment in another Member State, in Switzerland or in an EEA state, you must first take this authorisation to the statutory healthcare insurer in the state of treatment. If there are several, you may choose one. You will find an overview of the healthcare insurers at the end of the leaflets entitled “On holiday in …?” on the pages of the German Liaison Agency Health Insurance – International. You can also approach these healthcare insurers if you fall ill when on holiday and have any questions concerning the range of statutory benefits available.

Costs and co-payments

If you have opted to undergo treatment within the framework of the EC Directives, we recommend clarifying with the healthcare insurer in the state of treatment before starting treatment what costs are paid or reimbursed in accordance with its regulations. If you have to meet some of the costs yourself, you can apply for a partial or complete reimbursement (depending on the law applying in the state of treatment) once the treatment has been carried out. You can make the application either

  • directly to the healthcare insurer in your state of treatment, or
  • to your German health insurance fund.

Most Member States provide for co-payments to be made by patients for benefits provided within statutory social insurance. You will initially have to pay these yourself.

Particularly in cases in which you have to pay the entire cost of the treatment upfront on the basis of the regulations applicable in the state of treatment, and you have received a reimbursement in the state of treatment within the statutory range of benefits, it makes sense to apply to your health insurance fund for a reimbursement of the co-payment that you had to pay. This is particularly worthwhile if the co-payments in the state of treatment are very high.

You have received an authorisation from your health insurance fund (form E 112 or S2) for out-patient treatment in France. You have submitted the authorisation to the French healthcare insurer, which then certified that you can receive out-patient treatment.

The French system is a cost reimbursement system. You therefore had to pay the costs to the doctor yourself in the first instance.

After the treatment, you then submitted the invoice to the French healthcare insurer for a reimbursement, which however only reimbursed you the statutory share of 70%. Patients in France have to pay 30% of the cost themselves as a co-payment.

If you now submit the remaining co-payments to your German health insurance fund, it will examine whether it is possible to make an additional reimbursement. This applies if the German health insurance fund would have paid a larger amount for this benefit in Germany.

Alternatively, you can also submit the invoices which you paid in France directly to your health insurance fund for a reimbursement. Your health insurance fund then automatically calculates the reimbursement amount which is more favourable for you overall.

Whether overnight costs and travel expenses or additional costs are reimbursed in the context of cross-border healthcare depends on a large number of factors, and therefore cannot be stated in general terms. Please contact your health insurance fund directly should you have any questions on this matter.

Advantages and disadvantages of being treated as if you had statutory health insurance (form E 112 or S2)

The authorisation procedure that was described above enables you to be certain that the costs of the treatment will be assumed to a considerable extent.

You must however always obtain authorisation from your health insurance fund before undergoing treatment in another Member State or in one of the states mentioned above. What is more, you may only receive treatment from healthcare providers there who have a contract with the statutory health insurance funds there.

Documents and Links

Contact

Team EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Phone
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Online contact form

Find National Contact Points of other EU countries

You will find here a list of National Contact Points of the EU with several contact informations.

Regional sources of information

You are living in a border region and you are searching for further regional information sources. Click here for an overview of institutions that could be helpful.

National information media

You will find more national information available here if you want to find out what treatment is available for specific diseases, or if you need further information on the topic of health.

Checklists

Information on treatment in another EU country at a glance

Sprungmarken

Nationale Kontaktstelle für die grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsversorgung

Bedien-Leiste:
Inhalt
Sie befinden sich hier:

Kostenübernahme bei Behandlung wie gesetzlich Krankenversicherte (Vordruck E 112 oder S2)

Bei diesem Verfahren gilt: Sie lassen sich die Behandlung im Vorfeld von Ihrer Krankenkasse genehmigen. Die Krankenkasse stellt Ihnen als Genehmigung einen Vordruck E 112 oder S2 aus. Damit weisen Sie im Behandlungsstaat nach, dass Sie wie eine dort gesetzlich krankenversicherte Person behandelt werden wollen und dass Ihre Krankenkasse die Kosten übernimmt.

Leistungsumfang

Welche Leistungen Sie im Rahmen der EG-Verordnungen in Anspruch nehmen können, richtet sich in diesen Fällen nach dem gesetzlichen Leistungsspektrum des Behandlungsstaates. Sieht zwar das deutsche Recht die von Ihnen gewünschte Leistung vor, z. B. eine bestimmte Behandlungsform, nicht aber das Recht im Behandlungsstaat, können Sie sich dort auch nicht entsprechend behandeln lassen. Welche Leistungen der Behandlungsstaat für gesetzlich Krankenversicherte anbietet, erfahren Sie am schnellsten über die gesetzliche Krankenversicherung vor Ort. Ein Vorgehen im Rahmen der EG-Verordnungen kann folglich im Einzelfall entweder eine Einschränkung bedeuten, oder Ihnen ein breiteres Behandlungsspektrum ermöglichen. Kennt z. B. das Recht des Behandlungsstaates eine Leistung für gesetzlich Krankenversicherte, die das deutsche Recht nicht kennt, kann Ihnen Ihre deutsche Krankenkasse dennoch die Behandlung in dem betreffenden Mitgliedstaat genehmigen. Eine Verpflichtung hierzu besteht allerdings nicht (siehe "Genehmigung").

Genehmigung

Um im Rahmen der EG-Verordnungen Leistungen in Anspruch nehmen zu können, die gesetzlich Krankenversicherten im Behandlungsstaat zur Verfügung stehen, benötigen Sie immer eine Genehmigung Ihrer Krankenkasse in Deutschland. Die Genehmigung müssen Sie vor Behandlungsbeginn im Mitgliedstaat vorlegen. Das gilt auch für Behandlungen, die Ihre Krankenkasse Ihnen bei Behandlung in Deutschland nicht genehmigen müsste, z. B. eine ambulante Computertomographie.

Ob Ihre Krankenkasse Ihnen eine bestimmte Behandlung in einem Mitgliedstaat genehmigt, liegt in der Regel in deren Ermessen. Sie muss keine Genehmigung erteilen, wenn

  • eine geeignete Behandlung in Deutschland möglich ist, oder
  • die Leistung nicht zum deutschen gesetzlichen Leistungsumfang gehört.

Dennoch kann die Krankenkasse auch in diesen Fällen eine Genehmigung erteilen.

Die Krankenkasse muss Ihnen die gewünschte Behandlung genehmigen, wenn sie nach den deutschen Rechtsvorschriften vorgesehen ist und in Deutschland nicht in einem medizinisch vertretbarem Zeitraum erbracht werden kann. Ausschlaggebend für die Beurteilung des vertretbaren Zeitraums sind Ihr Gesundheitszustand sowie der voraussichtliche Verlauf Ihrer Krankheit.

Ausstellen eines Vordrucks E 112 oder S2

Genehmigt Ihre Krankenkasse im Vorfeld die Behandlung in einem Mitgliedstaat oder einem der oben genannten Staaten, stellt sie Ihnen als Nachweis der Genehmigung einen Vordruck mit der Bezeichnung E 112 oder S2 aus. Die Krankenkasse kann diese Genehmigung entweder für die beantragte Behandlung oder auch für einen bestimmten Gesundheitsdienstleister sowie für einen bestimmten Ort und eine festgelegte Dauer ausstellen.

Sie wollen eine Computertomographie machen lassen. Würden Sie zu einem Behandler in Deutschland gehen, müssten Sie sich diese Untersuchung nicht von Ihrer Krankenkasse genehmigen lassen. Sie haben sich aber für einen Behandler in Österreich entschieden, dessen Praxis für Sie besser erreichbar ist als diejenige eines Leistungserbringers in Deutschland. Der Behandler Ihrer Wahl ist in Österreich ein zugelassener vertraglicher Leistungserbinger.

Sie können bei Ihrer Krankenkasse in Deutschland beantragen, wie eine österreichische Kassenpatientin oder ein österreichischer Kassenpatient behandelt zu werden. Genehmigt Ihnen Ihre Krankenkasse die Behandlung, stellt Sie Ihnen den Vordruck E 112 oder S2 aus. Sie kann die Genehmigung auf eine bestimmte Behandlung, auf einen bestimmten Leistungserbringer und auf ein bestimmtes Zeitfenster begrenzen, muss eine Einschränkung in dieser Weise aber nicht vornehmen.

Möglicherweise stellt der von Ihnen gewählte Gesundheitsdienstleister (z. B. die Ärztin, der Arzt) fest, dass die genehmigte Behandlung nicht ausreicht. Hatte Ihre Krankenkasse die Genehmigung im ersten Vordruck auf eine bestimmte Behandlung beschränkt, müssen Sie nun eine erneute Genehmigung beantragen, also einen weiteren Vordruck E 112 bzw. S2.

Wahl eines gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungsträgers

Wenn Sie im Rahmen der EG-Verordnungen eine Genehmigung erhalten haben, eine medizinische Leistung im EU-Ausland in Anspruch zu nehmen, wenden Sie sich mit dieser Genehmigung im Behandlungsstaat zuerst an den dortigen gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungsträger. Gibt es in einem Staat mehrere Krankenversicherungsträger, können Sie einen auswählen. Einen Überblick über die Krankenversicherungsträger finden Sie am Ende der Merkblätter „Urlaub in …“ auf den Seiten der Deutschen Verbindungsstelle Krankenversicherung – Ausland.

Kosten und Eigenbeteiligungen

Wenn Sie sich für eine Behandlung im Rahmen der EG-Verordnung entschieden haben, empfehlen wir Ihnen, bereits vor der Behandlung mit dem Krankenversicherungsträger im Behandlungsstaat zu klären, welche Kosten nach seinen Rechtsvorschriften übernommen bzw. erstattet werden. Sofern Sie selbst Kosten tragen mussten, können Sie nach der Behandlung die anteilige bzw. komplette Erstattung (je nach Rechtslage des Behandlungsstaates) beantragen. Den Antrag können Sie entweder

  • direkt bei dem Krankenversicherungsträger Ihres Behandlungsstaates oder
  • bei Ihrer deutschen Krankenkasse stellen.

Die meisten Mitgliedstaaten sehen für Leistungen im Rahmen der gesetzlichen Sozialversicherung Eigenbeteiligungen durch die Patientin oder den Patienten vor. Diese müssen Sie zunächst selbst tragen.

Insbesondere in den Fällen, in denen Sie aufgrund der Regelungen des Behandlungsstaates die Kosten zunächst komplett selbst bezahlen mussten und im Behandlungsstaat eine Erstattung im Rahmen des gesetzlichen Leistungsumfangs erhalten haben, ist es sinnvoll, bei Ihrer Krankenkasse einen Erstattungsantrag für die Ihnen verbliebenen Eigenanteile zu stellen. Dies lohnt vor allem dann, wenn die Eigenanteile im Behandlungsstaat recht hoch sind.

Sie haben für eine ambulante Behandlung in Frankreich eine Genehmigung Ihrer Krankenkasse erhalten (Vordruck E 112 oder S2). Die Genehmigung haben Sie dem französischen Krankenversicherungsträger vorgelegt, der Ihnen daraufhin bescheinigt hat, dass Sie eine ambulante Behandlung in Anspruch nehmen können.

Das französische System ist ein Kostenerstattungssystem. Sie müssen daher die Kosten zunächst bei der Ärztin oder bei dem Arzt/bei der Zahnärztin oder bei dem Zahnarzt selbst bezahlen.

Die Rechnung haben Sie im Anschluss an die Behandlung dem französischen Krankenversicherungsträger zur Erstattung vorgelegt. Dieser hat Ihnen aber nur den gesetzlichen Anteil in Höhe von 70% erstattet. Die restlichen 30% der Kosten sind als Eigenanteil in Frankreich vom Patienten selbst zu tragen.

Reichen Sie die Ihnen verbliebenen Eigenanteile bei Ihrer deutschen Krankenkasse ein. Die Krankenkasse prüft, ob sie Ihnen diese ganz oder teilweise erstatten kann. Das ist der Fall, wenn die deutsche Krankenkasse für diese Leistung in Deutschland einen höheren Betrag gezahlt hätte.

Alternativ können Sie die von Ihnen in Frankreich bezahlten Rechnungen auch direkt Ihrer Krankenkasse zur Erstattung einreichen. Ihre Krankenkasse ermittelt dann automatisch den für Sie insgesamt günstigsten Erstattungsbetrag.

Ob Übernachtungs- und Reisekosten oder zusätzliche Kosten im Rahmen der grenzüberschreitenden Gesundheitsversorgung erstattet werden, ist von vielen Faktoren abhängig und kann daher nicht allgemein beantwortet werden. Klären Sie etwaige Fragen direkt mit Ihrer Krankenkasse.

Vor- und Nachteile einer Behandlung wie gesetzlich Krankenversicherte (Vordruck E 112 oder S2)

Das oben beschriebene Genehmigungsverfahren bietet Ihnen die Sicherheit, dass die Kosten der Behandlung weitestgehend übernommen werden.

Allerdings müssen Sie vor einer Behandlung in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat oder einem der oben genannten Staaten immer die Genehmigung Ihrer Krankenkasse einholen. Zudem dürfen Sie sich dort nur von Gesundheitsdienstleistern behandeln lassen, die in einem Vertragsverhältnis zu den dortigen gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungen stehen.

Dokumente und Links

Kontakt

EU-PATIENTEN.DE

Pennefeldsweg 12 c
53177 Bonn

Telefon
+49 228 9530-802/800

Fax
+49 228 9530-801
Zum Online-Kontaktformular

Kontaktstellen im EU-Ausland finden

Hier finden Sie eine Auflistung von Nationalen Kontaktstellen anderer EU-Staaten.

Informationsangebote in Grenzregionen

Sie leben in einer Grenzregion und suchen weitere regionale Informationsangebote? Hier haben wir eine Übersicht über für Sie hilfreiche Institutionen zusammengestellt.

Überregionale Informationsträger

Wenn Sie Behandlungsmöglichkeiten zu bestimmten Krankheiten oder weiterführende Informationen rund um das Thema Gesundheit suchen, finden Sie hier weitere überregionale Informationsangebote.

Checklisten

Informationen zur Behandlung im EU-Ausland auf einen Blick